Service Divisions
Mia Yaniko
Mia Yaniko, Section Chief
Section Chief
Holly Welch
Holly Welch, Assistant Section Chief
Asst. Section Chief

Section Phone Number: 614-644-7250
AGO Help Center: 800-282-0515

About the AGO > Service Divisions > Education


Higher Education Representation

The Education Section (Education) represents Ohio’s 14 universities and 23 two-year state community colleges, community colleges and technical colleges. This representation involves coordination of the work of in-house attorneys who handle the day-to-day work for the colleges and universities. The representation also includes working with and overseeing the special counsel who handle matters that the Attorney General’s Office cannot, due to a lack of expertise or manpower. 

Education Assistant Attorneys General serve as general counsel to 19 of the two-year colleges that do not have in-house attorneys. In that capacity, Education Assistant Attorneys General provide advice and training on issues relating to higher education, including employment, state contracts, student privacy and discipline. Education Assistant Attorneys General also represent the colleges and universities in federal and state courts as well as in administrative matters.

Education’s other higher education clients include the Ohio Department of Higher Education, the Ohio Tuition Trust Authority, the State Board of Career Colleges and the Ohio Association of Community Colleges.

Primary and Secondary Education Representation

Education’s main primary and secondary education client is the State Board of Education/Ohio Department of Education (ODE). Education Assistant Attorneys General handle litigation in federal and state courts and administrative hearings related to Ohio’s community schools (charter schools), special education services, educator discipline and licensure, territory transfer, transportation, child nutrition and public records. 

Other primary and secondary education clients include the fiscal emergency commissions, which oversee the financial affairs of school districts that have been declared in fiscal emergency by the Ohio Auditor; the academic distress commissions that are established when a school district has been declared to be in a state of academic emergency for failing to make adequate yearly progress for four or more consecutive school years; and the Broadcast Educational Media Commission.