News Releases
Media > News Releases > March 2012 > Ohio and Kansas Sign Concealed Carry Reciprocity Agreements

News Releases

Ohio and Kansas Sign Concealed Carry Reciprocity Agreements


(COLUMBUS, Ohio) – Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine and Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt have signed an agreement permitting reciprocity between their states for citizens who have valid concealed carry permits.

"This agreement between Ohio and Kansas allows Ohioans with valid concealed carry permits the same rights to carry a concealed handgun in the State of Kansas," said Attorney General DeWine.  "Likewise, it also allows Kansans who have valid concealed carry permits to do the same in Ohio."

Ohio law permits the Attorney General to enter into written agreements with other states whose laws are "substantially comparable" to Ohio's eligibility requirements for a license to carry a concealed handgun.  In Kansas, this authority falls under the state Attorney General's office.

Concealed carry permit holders will be required to comply with all of the other state's laws regarding possession, transportation, storage, and use of concealed weapons and all other applicable laws except those regarding issuance, suspension, revocation and renewal of concealed weapons licenses, which remain within the power of the issuing state.

Each state will make their verification systems available to the other to enable the status of the other state's concealed carry licenses to be checked.

The agreement remains in force unless statutory authority for it is withdrawn by either of the state's legislatures or terminated in writing by either party upon 30 days of notice.

With the addition of Kansas, Ohio now has reciprocity agreements with 23 states.



Ohio-Kansas Reciprocity Agreement (PDF)

Media Contacts

Lisa Hackley: 614-466-3840
Dan Tierney: 614-466-3840

Bookmark and Share