





Submitted on January 16, 2020 - Final Signed

Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission Special Session Meeting Thursday, September 12, 2019 held at the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy, 1650 State Route 56 SW London, Ohio 43140

Minutes - September 12, 2019

A. Opening

Call to Order

Chair Stanforth called the meeting to order at 10:01 a.m. Sheriff Heldman led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Ms. Donna Long called the Roll Call.

Commission members present - per sign-in sheet

Sheriff Vernon Stanforth Sheriff Michael Heldman Colonel Richard Fambro Ms. Carol O'Brien Chief George Kral Chief Clayton Harris SAC Todd Wickerham

Lt. James Fitsko - phone with no vote

Staff Attorney General's Office - per sign-in sheet

Mr. Jeffrey Boucher-Associate Assistant Attorney/AGO

Ms. Jill Cury-OPOTC Staff

Ms. Courtney DeLong-OPOTC Staff

Ms. Arienne Fauber-OPOTC Staff

Mr. Michael Golec-OPOTA Staff

Mr. Richard Hardy-Director of Certification/Standards and Education/Policy

Ms. Donna Long, OPOTC Secretary-OPOTC Staff

Ms. Julie Pfeiffer, Asst. Chief, Constitutional Office/AGO

Mr. Jeffrey K. Scott - Executive Director-OPOTC/A

Mr. Michael Walton, Asst. Attorney General -Constitutional Office/AGO

P.O. Box 309, London, Ohio 43140

Guests - per sign-in sheet

Mr. Jerry Snay, Commander

Chair Stanforth announced they would forgo most of the traditional agenda. We have a personnel issue that needs to be brought before the entire Commission, where they can sit as a group and discuss the issues. Chair Stanforth entertained a motion to go into executive order for the purpose of discussing personnel matters.

MOTION:

Ms. O'Brien moved to go into executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters. The motion was seconded by Chief Harris. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-7, No-0, Lt. Fitsko didn't vote.

Chair Stanforth, Sheriff Heldman, Chief Harris, Colonel Fambro, Ms. O'Brien, SAC Wickerham and Chief Kral all voted Yes.

Chair Stanforth asked once everyone had signed in, if they would please leave the room with the exception of Commissioners and legal counsel.

The Commission went into Executive Session at 10:05 a.m.

Chair Stanforth entertain the motion to come out of Executive Session at 11:55 a.m.

MOTION:

Chief Kral made the motion to come out of Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Colonel Fambro. A vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-7, No-0, Lt. Fitsko didn't vote.

Chair Stanforth entertained a motion:

MOTION:

Chief Harris made the motion to accept the resignation from Jeffrey Scott. The motion was seconded by Sheriff Heldman. No discussion was brought forward. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-7, No-0, Lt. Fitsko didn't vote.

Chair Stanforth, Sheriff Heldman, Chief Harris, Colonel Fambro, Ms. O'Brien, SAC Wickerham and Chief Kral all voted Yes.

Chair Stanforth stated the resignation was accepted and he thanked Mr. Scott for his service to the Commission and to OPOTA/C. Chair Stanforth asked if there were any other motions or business? Ms. O'Brien wanted to look at assigning someone as an acting, temporary or interim executive director.

MOTION:

Ms. O'Brien moved that Richard Hardy be designated as the acting executive director. The motion was seconded by SAC Wickerham. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-7, No-0, Lt. Fitsko didn't vote.

Chair Stanforth, Sheriff Heldman, Chief Harris, Colonel Fambro, Ms. O'Brien, SAC Wickerham and Chief Kral all voted Yes.

The chair asked if there was any other business for the Commission? Hearing done Chair Stanforth entertained a motion to adjourn.

MOTION:

Ms. O'Brien moved to adjourn the meeting. Chief Kral seconded the motion. A vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-7 / No-0 / Absent-1, Lt. Fitsko didn't vote.

Time:12:15 p.m.

Chair Vernon P. Stanforth

These transcripts are not verbatim. Audio recordings are available upon request.