
1458 OPINIONS 

945. 

APPROVAL, BONDS OF COPLEY TOWXSHIP RURAL SCHOOL DIS­
TRICT, SUMMIT COUNTY-$175,000.00. 

CoLUMBUS, OHIO, September 30, 1929. 

Retirement Board, State Teachers Retirement System, Columbus, Ohio. 

946. 

DRIVER-MOTOR VEHICLE-DUTIES IMPOSED WHEN ACCIDENT OR 
COLLISION OCCURS-SUFFICIENCY OF STOPPING UNDER SEC­
TION 12606, GENERAL CODE DEPENDE?\'T ON CIRCUl'I'ISTANCES OF 
EACH CASE. 

SYLLABUS: 
1. Under the terms of Section 12606, of the General Code, a person operating a 

motor vehicle upon the public roads or high-ways in case of an accident to or collision 
with persons or property, due to the driving or operation thereon of his motor z1ehicle, 
having knowledge of such accident or collision, must return to the place of the acci­
dent or collision and there remain for a su.fficient time to give the person injured, or 
to any other Person or persons a reasonable opportunity to request of him his name and 
address, or if he is not the owner, the name and address of the owner of such motor 
vehicle, together with the registratio1~ number of such motor vehicle. 

2. Whether or not the stopping by a driver of a vehicle upon the highway after 
an accident or collision is a sufficient compliance with Section 12606, of the General 
Code, depends upon the circumstances in each particular case. 

CoLUMBUS, Omo, September 30, 1929. 

HoN. MICHAEL B. UNDERWOOD, Prosecuting Attorney, Kenton, Ohio. 
DEAR SIR :-I am in receipt of your letter of recent date, which is in part, as 

follows: 

"We submit the following for your opinion: 
Section 12606 as amended by the last Legislature reads as follows: 
'In case of an accident to or collision with persons or property upon any 

of the public roads or highways, due to the driving or operation thereon of 
any motor vehicle, the person so driving or operating such motor vehicle 
and having knowledge of such accident or collision, shall stop and upon re­
quest of the person injured or any person, give such person his name and 
address, and in addition thereto if not the owner, the name and address of 
the owner of such motor vehicle together with register number of such 
motor vehicle. 

Any person who violates the provisions of this section shall be deemed 
guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be fined not Jess 
than $200.00 and imprisoned in the county jail or workhouse not more than 
six months or both.' 


