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OPINION NO. 2012-034 

Syllabus: 

2012-034 

Pursuant to R.C. 2923.125(F), a person who has not previously 
renewed his license to carry a concealed handgun is not required to 
file with the county sheriff a competency certification of the type 
described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3) to renew his license even when 
his license has been expired for more than 30 days. 
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To: Sherri Bevan Walsh, Summit County Prosecuting Attorney, Akron, Ohio 
By: Michael DeWine, Ohio Attorney General, October 3, 2012 

You have requested an opinion about the renewal of a license to carry a 
concealed handgun. Specifically, you ask whether a person who has not previously 
renewed his license to carry a concealed handgun is required to file with the county 
sheriff a competency certification of the type described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3) to 
renew his license when the person's license has been expired for more than 30 days. 

R.C. 2923.125 permits a person to apply for and acquire from a county 
sheriff a license to carry a concealed handgun. A person who files an initial applica­
tion for a license to carry a concealed handgun must submit to the county sheriff a 
color photograph of himself; a competency certification as described in R.C. 
2923.125(B)(3); a set of his fingerprints; the prescribed fee unless waived; and a 
certification that he has read the pamphlet prepared by the Ohio Peace Officer Train­
ing Commission (OPOTC) pursuant to R.C. 109.731 that in everyday language (1) 
explains Ohio's laws governing firearms, dispute resolution, and use of deadly force 
with a firearm; (2) instructs a reader about dispute resolution; and (3) provides in­
formation regarding the use of deadly force with a firearm. R.c. 2923.125(B). 

The competency certification described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3) must 
indicate one of the following: 

• 	 The person has completed a firearms safety, training, or requalifica­
tion or firearms safety instructor course, class, or program described 
in R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3)(a)-(c) or R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3)(e)-(f) within 
the 3 years immediately preceding the application; 

• 	 The person is currently an active or reserve member of the armed 
forces of the United States and through participation in the military 
service acquired experience with handling handguns or other fire­
arms that is equivalent to the training the person could have acquired 
in a course, class, or program described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3)(a)­
(c); 

• 	 The person was honorably discharged from military service in the 
active or reserve armed forces ofthe United States within the 6 years 
immediately preceding the application and through participation in 
the military service acquired experience with handling handguns or 
other firearms that is equivalent to the training the person could 
have acquired in a course, class, or program described in R.C. 
2923. 125(B)(3)(a)-( c); 

• 	 The person is a retired state highway patrol trooper who retired from 
such employment within the 6 years immediately preceding the ap­
plication and through participation in such employment acquired 
experience with handling handguns or other firearms that is equiva­
lent to the training the person could have acquired in a course, class, 
or program described in R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3)(a)-(c); 
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• 	 The person is a retired peace officer or federal law enforcement of­
ficer described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(I) who retired from such 
employment within the 6 years immediately preceding the applica­
tion and through participation in such employment acquired experi­
ence with handling handguns or other firearms that is equivalent to 
the training the person could have acquired in a course, class, or 
program described in R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3)(a)-(c); or 

• 	 The person is a retired person described in R.C. 109.77(B)(1)(b) 
and R.C. 2923.125(B)(1) who retired from such employment within 
the 6 years immediately preceding the application and through 
participation in such employment acquired experience with handling 
handguns or other firearms that is equivalent to the training the 
person could have acquired in a course, class, or program described 
in R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3)(a)-(c). 

R.C. 2923.125(B)(3). 

After considering a person's application for a license to carry a concealed 
handgun and supporting documentation, the results of a criminal records check and 
incompetency records check, and other pertinent information, a county sheriff may 
issue or decline to issue the person a license to carry a concealed handgun. See R.c. 
2923.125(0); In re Forster, 161 Ohio App. 3d 627, 2005-0hio-3094, 831 N.E.2d 
518 (Geauga County); Lownsbury v. Hassinger, 150 Ohio Misc. 2d 52, 2008-0hio­
7136, 903 N.E.2d 1289 (C.P. Medina County); 2004 Op. Att'y Gen. No. 2004-046; 
2004 Op. Att'y Gen. No. 2004-038. 

A license to carry a concealed handgun issued under R.c. 2923.125 expires 
five years after the date of issuance when the license is issued on or after March 14, 
2007. R.C. 2923. 125(0)(2)(a); R.c. 2923.126(A). If the license was issued prior to 
March 14, 2007, the license expired four years after the date of issuance. R.C. 
2923. 125(0)(2)(a); R.C. 2923.126(A). 

Provisions pertaining to the renewal of a license to carry a concealed 
handgun issued under R.C. 2923.125 are set forth in R.C. 2923.125(F). A person 
who intends to renew his license is required to file with a county sheriff a renewal 
application, a fee unless waived, a certification that the person has reread the 
pamphlet prepared by OPOTC pursuant to R.C. 109.731, and proof of a (1) 
competency certification of the type described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3) for an initial 
renewal or (2) renewed competency certification of the type described in R.C. 
2923. 125(G)(4) for a second or subsequent renewal. R.C. 2923.125(F)(I). Thus, a 
person who has not previously renewed his license to carry a concealed handgun is 
required to file with the county sheriff proof of a competency certification of the 
type described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3) when renewing his license. R.C. 
2923.125(F)(I)(a). 

To satisfy the competency certification requirement, a person may use an 
"expired license" to carry a concealed handgun that was issued pursuant to R.C. 
2923.125 as "prima-facie evidence" that he at one time had a competency certifi-
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cation of the type described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3). Id. This means that a person 
who has not previously renewed his license to carry a concealed handgun may 
satisfy the requirement that he provide proof of a competency certification of the 
type described in R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3) by providing a county sheriff with informa­
tion that establishes he has an expired license to carry a concealed handgun that was 
issued pursuant to R.C. 2923.125. And, a sheriff must accept such information un­
less contradictory evidence exists. See generally 1993 Op. Att'y Gen. No. 93-072 at 
2-349 ("[t]he term 'prima facie evidence' means '[s]uch evidence as, in the judg­
ment of the law, is sufficient to establish a given fact, or the group or chain of facts 
constituting the party's claim or defense, and which if not rebutted or contradicted, 
will remain sufficient'" (quoting Black's Law Dictionary 1190 (6th ed. 1990»); 
1989 Op. Att'y Gen. No. 89-091 at 2-436 (prima facie evidence "is evidence which 
establishes a fact in issue, unless overcome by other evidence to the contrary"). 

If a person submits to a county sheriff a renewal application, the prescribed 
fee unless waived, a certification that the person has reread the pamphlet prepared 
by OPOTC pursuant to R.C. 109.731, and sufficient information to establish he has 
an expired license to carry a concealed handgun that was issued pursuant to R.C. 
2923.125, the sheriff "shall renew the license if the sheriff," after reviewing the 
results of a criminal records check and incompetency records check, "determines 
that the [person] continues to satisfy the requirements described in [R.C. 
2923.125(0)(1 )]." R.C. 2923.125(F)(2) (emphasis added). The use of the term 
"shall" in R.C. 2923.125(F)(2) "connotes the imposition of a mandatory obliga­
tion unless other language is included that evidences a clear and unequivocal intent 
to the contrary." State v. Golphin, 81 Ohio St. 3d 543, 545-46, 692 N.E.2d 608 
(1998); accord Ohio Dept. ofLiquor Control v. Sons ofItaly Lodge 0917, 65 Ohio 
St. 3d 532, 534, 605 N.E.2d 368 (1992). 

No provision in the Revised Code authorizes a county sheriff to require a 
person to file a competency certification of the type described in R.C. 
2923. 125(B)(3) to renew his license to carry a concealed handgun when the person 
has not previously renewed his license. In fact, R.c. 2923.125(F)(2) states that a 
county sheriff" shall renew" the person's license "if the sheriff determines that the 
[person] continues to satisfy the requirements described in [R.C. 2923.125(0)(1 )], 
except that the [person] is not required to meet the requirements of [R.C. 
2923.125(D)(1)(1)]." In other words, a person who has not previously renewed his 
license to carry a concealed handgun is not required to comply with R.C. 
2923.125(0)(1)(1) when applying to renew his license. 

R.C. 2923.125(0)(1)(1) requires, inter alia, a person to submit "a compe­
tency certification of the type described in [R.C. 2923.125(B)(3)]." Insofar as R.C. 
2923.125(F)(2) does not require a person who has not previously renewed his 
license to comply with R.C. 2923.125(0)(1)(1), a county sheriff may not require the 
person to file a competency certification of the type described in R.C. 
2923.125(B)(3) to renew his license. Accordingly, if a person who has not previ­
ously renewed his license complies with R.C. 2923.125(F)(1) and continues to 
satisfy the requirements of R.C. 2923.125 (0)(1) other than R.C. 2923.125(0)(1 )(1), 
the county sheriff has a mandatory duty to renew the person's license when the 
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person submits sufficient information to establish that he has an expired license to 
carry a concealed handgun that was issued pursuant to R.C. 2923.125. 

There are no express exceptions to this duty in the Revised Code. Absent a 
legislative exception, a county sheriff may not require a person who has not previ­
ously renewed his license to file a competency certification of the type described in 
R.C. 2923.125(B)(3) in lieu of information establishing that the person has an 
expired license to carry a concealed handgun that was issued pursuant to R.C. 
2923.125. See generally Scheu v. State, 83 Ohio St. 146, 157-58,93 N.E. 969 (1910) 
(' 'we must observe the rule that an exception to the provisions of a statute not sug­
gested by any of its terms should not be introduced by construction from consider­
ations of mere convenience"); Morris Coal Co. v. Donley, 73 Ohio St. 298, 76 N.E. 
945 (1906) (syllabus, paragraph 1) (" [a]n exception to the provisions of a statute 
not suggested by any of its terms should not be introduced by construction from 
considerations of mere convenience"). 

You have explained that it has been suggested that a person who has not 
previously renewed his license to carry a concealed handgun may not use an expired 
license to renew his license when his license has been expired for more than 30 
days. Or, put another way, a person may use an expired license to renew his license 
only during the 30-day period following the expiration of his license. This assertion 
is based on language set forth in R.c. 2923. I 26(A) pertaining to the expiration ofa 
license to carry a concealed handgun that is issued pursuant to R.C. 2923.125. R.C. 
2923.126(A) states that a person "who has been issued a license under [R.C. 
2923.125] shall be granted a grace period of thirty days after the [person's] license 
expires during which the [person's] license remains valid." (Emphasis added.) 

For the reasons that follow, we are not persuaded that this language in R.C. 
2923.126(A) creates an exception to the duty imposed upon a county sheriff by R.C. 
2923.125(F)(2). First, nothing in R.C. 2923.126 indicates that the language creates 
an exception to the mandate set forth in R.C. 2923. 125(F)(2). Rather, the purpose of 
this language is to keep a license to carry a concealed handgun valid for 30 days af­
ter it expires. During this 30-day period, a person may legally carry a concealed 
handgun even though his license has expired. 

Further, ifthe language ofR.C. 2923.126(A) were interpreted as creating an 
exception to R.C. 2923.125(F)(2)'s mandate, a person would never be able to use 
an expired license to carry a concealed handgun as prima-facie evidence that the 
person at one time had a competency certification of the type described in R.C. 
2923.125(B)(3). Pursuant to R.C. 2923.126(A), during the 30-day period after the 
person's license expires, the license remains valid. Consequently, when a person 
renews his license during this 30-day period and uses his license as proof of having 
a competency certification, the person is using a valid license as prima-facie evi­
dence that the person at one time had a competency certification of the type 
described in R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3). 

If a person has a valid license during the 30-day period after his license 
expires and it is also determined that he is not permitted to use an expired license 
after the 30-day period to satisfy the competency certification requirement, a person 
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would never be able to use an expired license to carry a concealed handgun as 
prima-facie evidence that the person at one time had a competency certification of 
the type described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3). However, as explained earlier, R.C. 
2923.125(F)(1)(a) explicitly permits a person who has not previously renewed his 
license to carry a concealed handgun to use an expired license as prima-facie evi­
dence that he at one time had a competency certification of the type described in 
R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3). Given that it is a fundamental rule of statutory construction 
that all words in a statute are to have effect and none are to be disregarded, it fol­
lows that R.C. 2923. 125(F)(1 )(a) authorizes a person to use an expired license dur­
ing the time following the 30-day period as prima-facie evidence that he at one time 
had a competency certification of the type described in R.c. 2923.125(B)(3). See 
generally D.A.B.E., Inc. v. Toledo-Lucas County Bd. ofHealth, 96 Ohio St. 3d 250, 
2002-0hio-4172, 773 N.E.2d 536, at ~19 ("words in a statute do not exist in a 
vacuum. [A court] must presume that in enacting a statute, the General Assembly 
intended for the entire statute to be effective. Thus, all words should have effect and 
no part should be disregarded" (citation omitted)); Wachendorf v. Shaver, 149 
Ohio St. 231, 78 N.E.2d 370 (1948) (syllabus, paragraph 5) ("[t]he court must look 
to the statute itself to determine legislative intent, and if such intent is clearly 
expressed therein, the statute may not be restricted, constricted, qualified, narrowed, 
enlarged or abridged; significance and effect should, if possible, be accorded to 
every word, phrase, sentence and part of an act"); Carter v. Div. of Water, City of 
Youngstown, 146 Ohio St. 203, 65 N.E.2d 63 (1946) (syllabus, paragraph 1) ("[i]n 
the construction of statutes. . . none of the language employed therein should be 
disregarded"). 

As R.C. 2923.126(A) does not create an exception to the duty imposed 
upon a county sheriff by R.C. 2923.125(F)(2), a county sheriff may not require a 
person who has not previously renewed his license to carry a concealed handgun to 
file a competency certification of the type described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3) in lieu 
of information establishing that the person has an expired license to carry a con­
cealed handgun that was issued pursuant to R.C. 2923.125 even when his license 
has been expired for more than 30 days. Therefore, pursuant to R.C. 2923. 125(F), a 
person who has not previously renewed his license to carry a concealed handgun is 
not required to file with the county sheriff a competency certification of the type 
described in R.C. 2923. 125(B)(3) to renew his license even when his license has 
been expired for more than 30 days. 

In conclusion, it is my opinion, and you are hereby advised that, pursuant to 
R.C. 2923.125(F), a person who has not previously renewed his license to carry a 
concealed handgun is not required to file with the county sheriff a competency certi­
fication of the type described in R.C. 2923.125(B)(3) to renew his license even 
when his license has been expired for more than 30 days. 




