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OPINION NO. 73-072

Syilabus:

Pursuant to R.C. 4519.02, 4519,03, and 4519.04, the Rureau
of Motor Vehicles must issue to all persons who purchase snowmobiles
and all nurpose vehicles during the 90day period precedinc August
31, who apply for original certificates of registration during
that period, certificates and validation decals which are valid
only for the current registration year expiring on August 31,
and which may be renewed for the succeeding registration vear
pursuant to R.C. 4519.04 (D).

To: C. Donald Curry, Registrar, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Columbus, Ohio
By: William J. Brown, Attorney General, July 17, 1973

I have before me your request for my opinion, the question
in which may he summarized as follows:

May the Rureau of Motor Vehicles,
pursuant to R.C. Chapter 4519, permit
the deputy registrars to issue and permit
display of next year's registration decals
starting on the 90th day preceding August
31, for those persons who have purchased
a new snowmobile or all purpose vehicle
within this 90day period, rather than
requiring such persons to register their
vehicle for the current registration year
and then renew such registration for the
succeeding registration year which begins
on September 1?

Your letter provides the background for this question, as
follows:
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Ohio Revised Code 4519.04 (D) states
that the registration for the current vear
expires on August 31 of each year and that
apolication for renewal of a certificate
may be made not earlier than ninety days
preceding the expiration date. Fowever,
this section makes nc reference to vehicles
newly purchased in this ninety day period
for which the owner must file an original
registration application. If a new regis-
stration application must be filed when a
vehicle is newly purchased within this
period, and then a renewal application must
be filed, the owner of such vehicle must
nay $10.00 ($5.n0 for the original application
and $S5.00 for the renewal apnlication) for
the same nrivilege that a renewal applicant
pays only $5.00., Furthermore, the duplication
of the applications would considerably
increase the work of the administration of
the registration procedure, arguably unneces-
sarily.

Relying upon Chio Revised Code 4519.04 (B)
which states that the Registrar 1s to prescribe
the manner of attaching the registration numher,
we have directed the deputy registrars to issue
and permit the display of next vear's regis-
stration decals starting on the 90th day before
August 31 for those persons vwho have nurchased
a nev Snowmobile or all purpose vehicle within
this ninety day period. Y respectfully request
your opinion regarding the legal advisability
of our decision.

An all purnose vehicle is “any self prorelled vehicle designed
for cross-country travel on land and water, or on more than one
type of terrain * * #*," with certain exceptions. R.C, 4519.0) (B).

In attempting to determine the intent of the legislature
on this matter when it enacted R.C. Chapter 4519., it is helpful
to compare these statutes to others regulating a similar activity.
Such statutes, being related, are in pari materia, and should
be construed together. IR.C. 4503,10, 4503.12 and 4503.13,
inter alia, pertain to registration of motor vehicles. R.C.

.10 requires all owners of motor vehicles which are to
be operated on the public roads or highways to register their
vehicles annually no later than April 15. This provision is
parallel to R.C. 4519.02 vhich requires, with minor exceptions,
all owners of snowmobiles and all purpose vehicles vho intend
to operate these vehicles on property not owned by them, to
register their vehicles annually no later than Augqust 31.

n l‘owever, R.C. 4503.10 also specifically provides in part
that:

From the sixteenth day of March to the
sixteenth day of April of any given vyear, the
owvner of a motor vehicle may use license
placards of either the current registration
year or the next succeeding registration year.
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This is the tire period durina which special bureaus are set up
to sell motor vehicle license placards in mass quantities.

Inder this Section, the owner of a motor vehicle nurchased
between 'larch 16 and 2pril 16 may, during this period, buy and
display license placards of the succeeding registration year
without having to nay any license fee for the current regis-~
stration year. Aas I understand it, this is essentially the
procedure you have instructed your deputy registrars to implement
in regard to snowmobiles and all onurpose vehicles.

R,C. Chapter 4519., however, contains no similar provision.
This silence by the legislature when it has previously addressed
itself directly to this matter in regard to registration of motor
vehicles necessarily leads to the inference that the legislature
intended no such procedure to he applicable to snowmobiles and
all purpose vehicles.

Furthermore, R.C. 4503.13 provides for quarterly reductions
in the registration tax on motor vehicles, never abolishing it
hut reducing it successively to one-fourth the normal tax in the
last cuarter. The legislature chose to remain silent on such
reductions in R.C., Chapter 4519. The inference must be drawn
that the legislature intended no reduction of the tax on regis-
stration of snowmobiles or all nurpose vehicles, regardless of
the time of registration.

R,C. 4519.04 (D), the subsection which estahlishes the
90-day period in question, provides:

(D) Unless previously cancelled,

each certificate (f registration issued

for a snowmobile or all purpose vehicle

shall expire annually upon the thirty first

day of August. Application for renewal

of a certificate may be made not earlier

than ninety days preceding the expiration

date, and shall be accompanied by a fee

of five dollars. The renewal of a certifi-

cate of registration for a snowmobile or

all purpose vehicle shall be evidenced by

a decal or similar device identifying the

registration period for which it is issued,

and shall be displayed upon the vehicle in

such manner as the reqgistrar shall prescribe.
(Emphasis added.)

This subsection speaks specifically to renewal of a certificate
of registration, not to the original registration procedure,
which is outlined in R.C. 4519,03 and 4519.04 (A). The 90-dav
period established in R.C. 4519.04 (D) applies only, and
specifically, to the time for renewal for the next succeeding
registration year of a currently valid registration certificate.
Nothing in this subsection makes the 90-day period applicable
to original registration of an appropriate vehicle, Thus,

any authority for issuing the succeeding year's registration
decals for original registration during the 90-day neriod in
guestion must be found outside this subsection, if at all.

Your reliance on the language of R.C. 4519.04 (R) aa .
authority for the procedure in question is unfounded. This Section
states in pertinent part:
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Upon receipt of a certificate of
registration for a snowmobile or all
purpose vehicle other than a mini-bike
or trail bike, the owner shall paint on
the vehicle or otherwise attach in such
manner as the reagistrar shall nrescribe,
the identifying registration number in
block characters of not less than three
inches in height and of such color as to
be distinetly visible and legihle, % * *

(Emphasis added.)

The language "in such manner as the registrar shall prescribe,”
pertains only to the preceding portion of the clause in which it
is contained. Thus the registrar is aiven authority to prescribe
the manner of attachment of the identifying registration number
to the vehicle: i.e., by paint, metallic lettering, etc. This
language does not pertain to what registration number is to bhe
issued, or for what period of time it is to be valid, but merely
to the manner of physical attachment of the registration nurber
of the vehicle after such number has been issued.

Pased on the legislature's silence when they had previously
chosen to implement a procedure similar to the one in question,
there does not appear to be any basis for allowing issuance and
display of next year's registration decals by owners of snow-
mobiles or all purpose vehicles purchased during the 30-day period
prior to the annual expiration date of all registration certificates.
Yence, I conclude that R.C. 4519.02, 45)9.03, and 4519.04 require
ovners who purchase snowmobiles or all purpose vehicles during the
90-day period stipulated in R.C. 4519.04 (D) to nurchase an original
registration certificate that will expire on August 31, which may
be renewed during this period for the succeeding registration year.

In spite of the fact that this construction will require a
June purchaser to vay the full fee 3 months before he must renew
the registration, it will not yield particularly unreasonable
regsults, See R.C. 1.47 (C). R.C. 4519.02 requires registration
only of vehicles which are to be "operated.” Since it is
impractical to operate a snowmobile during the 90-day period in
cuestion, i.e., June, July and August, there would he no need
for the ovner of a snowmobile purchased during this time veriod
to register it prior to September 1. Thus, snowmobile owners
will not be adversely affected by this ruling. On the other hand,
summer is probably the peak season for use of all purpose vehicles,
and requiring their owners to pay the five dollar fee for operation
during this period does not seem unreasonable in light of the
amount of use to which these vehicles may be put during this
time. The renewal fee is no more a burden on these owners than
on those who have held certificates of registration for the
entire year, since the renewal fee allows operation of the
vehicles during the full forthcoming year.

In specific answer to your question it is my opinion, and
you are so advised, that pursuant to N.C. 4519.02, 4519,.0n3,
and 4519.04, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles must issue to all
persons who purchase snowmobiles and all purpose vehicles during
the 90-day period preceding August 31, who apply for original
certificates of registration during that period, certificates
and decals which are valid only for the current registration year
expiring on August 31, and which may be renewed for the succeeding
registration year pursuant to R.C. 4519.04 (D).





