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laws relating to the status of surety companies and the Workmen's 'Compen­
sation have been complied with. 

Finding said contract and bond in proper legal form, I have this day 
noted my approval thereon, and return the same herewith to you, together 
with all other data submitted in this connection. 

4546. 

Respectfully, 
joHN W. BRICKER, 

Attorney General. 

APPROVAL, BONDS OF WATERLOO RURAL SCHOOL DIS­
TRICT, LAWRENCE COUNTY, OHIO, $15,000.00 (UNLIMI­
TED.) 

CoLUMBUs, OHio, August 15, 1935. 

Retirement Board, State Teachers Retirement System, Columbus, Ohio. 

4547. 

APPROVAL, BONDS OF GEORGETOWN EXEMPTED VILLAGE 
SCHOOL DISTRICT, BROWN COUNTY, OHIO, $12,500.00 
(LIMITED). 

CoLUMBUS, OHio, August 15, 1935. 

Retirement Board, State Teachers Retirement System, Columbus, Ohio. 

4548. 

COSMETOLOGY-OPERATORS MAY BE ISSUED MANAGER'S 
LICENSE WHEN- QUALIFICATIONS FOR MANAGER'S 
LICENSE. 

SYLLABUS: 
1. Cosmetology operators who are licensed by exemption as operators 



1022 OPINION~ 

to shampoo and finger-wave hair may not be issued a manager's license in 

shampooing and finger-waving unless they comply with the provisions of Sec­
tion 1082-5, paragraphs (e) or (f). 

2. A person licensed as a manager by exemption to do shampooing 

and finger-waving if she takes the necessary preliminary schooling in other 
branches of cosmetology and passes the examinations satisfactorily in such 
branches, may be licensed as an operator in all the branches of cosmetology or 
may be licensed as an operator in the branches of cosmetology satisfactorily 

passed by examination and her manager's license to shampoo and finger-·wave 
hair renewed. 

3. Cosmetology experience prior to September 28, 1933, may not be 
taken into consideration in the issuance of a manager's license under paragraphs 
(e) and (f) of Section 1082-5, General Code. 

4. With reference to exemptions under Section 1082-10, the State Board 
of Cosmetology should follow a rule of reason dependent upon the intent of 
the particular applicant and the time prior to the effective date of the Act that 
her actual practice of cosmetology terminated. 

5. Whether or not an applicant fails to pass an examination for an 
operator is not a relevant factor in the determination of whether or not such 
person is eligible under Section 1082-10, General Code, to exemption. 

6. It is reasonable for the State Board of Cosmetology to refuse to grant 
a license by exetmption under Section 1082-10 to operators v.·lw were actually 
out of the practice of cosmetology for more than three years prior to Septem­
ber 28, 1933. 

CoLUMBUS, OHIO, August 15, 1935. 

State Board of Cosmetology, Wyandotte Building, Columbus, Ohio. 

MESDAMES :-I am in receipt of your request for my opinion which reads 
as follows: 

"For the purpose of explanation, the following may be classed 
a$ beauty practices or branches of cosmetology: 

1. Care of scalp-shampooing, massaging 

2. Care of hands-Manicuring, Massaging. 

3. Care of face-Make-up, eyebrow arching, massagmg 

4. Care of hair-Bleaching, coloring, etc., finger-waving, 
permanent waving, marcelling, etc. 

According to Section 1082-10 of the Cosmetology Law, any 
person practicing any one of such branches of cosmetology in an 
established place of business at the time of taking effect of this Act 
(September 28, 1933) is entitled to a license to practice as an 
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operator, manager or instructor, or to act as owner of a beauty 
shop, as the case may be . 

. The practices or branches of cosmetology are specified in licenses 
issued in accordance with Section 1082-8 and 9. 

{a) During the past year, several operators were licensed by 
exemption to shampoo and fingerwave hair. 

May they be issued a manager license in shampooing 
and fingerwaving if they have not worked in an established 
place of business since September 28, 1934 {I year after 
the effective date) in accordance with the requirements of 
Section 1082-5 (e) or {f) ? 

(b) If an operator has been licensed as manager by exemp­
tion to do shampooing and fingerwaving in March, 1934; about 
September, 1934 she may enroll in a school for other branches of 
cosmetology. She may graduate about January 1, 1935 and make 
application for temporary licei1se and be admitted to next State 
Board examination. After passing the State Board examination 
satisfactorily, she may be licensed as an operator. 

When license is issued she is still eligible as a manager to do 
sha~pooing and fingerwaving. 

According to Section 1082-5 (c), (e), (f), after September 
28, 1934 she is not entitled to a manager license in the subjects 
licensed by examination unless she has 1000 hours credit in a school 
and 18 months experience; or 750 hours credit and three years 
experience in a licensed shop, in which the majority of the occu­
pations of a cosmetologist are practiced. 

May this operator be licensed as a manager 111 all 
subjects? 

Or, may she be licensed as an operator in all sub­
jects? 

Or, may she be licensed as a manager in subjects in 
which she is licensed by exemption and operator in sub­
jects she is licensed by examination? 

(c) We have also experienced another situation in which an 
operator licensed by examination claims past experience (experience 
prior to September 28, 1933) in a few subjects and requests the 
Cosmetology Board to take past experience into consideration and 
issue a manager license without 18 months experience in a licensed 
beauty shop as required by law (1082-5 {e)). 

Is the State Board of Cosmetology permitted to recog­
nize such past experience, since no shop was licensed at that 
time? 

9-A. G.-Vol. II. 
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(d) Other cases state that they practiced ( 1 to 2 years) pnor 
to September 28, 1933, but were not practicing cosmetology at the 
time of taking effect of the Act (September 28, 1933). 

May such persons be considered exempt from examin­
ation? 

(e) After completion of a course in beauty culture and after 
taking the State Board examination and failing to pass satisfactor­
ily, such operators claim past experience and apply for license by 
exemption. 

May a license to practice cosmetology be issued? 

(f) Sec. 1082-13. 'Any licensed cosmetologist or manicurist 
who retires from practice may have his or her license restored only 
upon payment of all lapsed renewal fees; provided, however, that 
no cosmetologist or manicurist, who has retired from practice for 
more than three years, may have his or her license restored, without 
examination.' 

If an operator is not permitted to retire from practice 
more than three years, is it reasonable to refuse to grant 
license by exemption to operators who have been out of 
practice for more than three years? 
May we have opinions from you on these questions." 

Section 1082-10, General Code, provides inter alia: 

"All persons who have been engaged in the actual practice of 
any branch or branches of cosmetology in established places of busi­
ness or who have taught cosmetology in a bonafide school of cosmet­
ology in this state at the time of the taking effect of this act shall, 
upon application to the board as provided in this act and upon pay­
ment of each applicant of a fee of five ( $5.00) dollars be granted, 
without examination, and without complying with the age or edu­
cational requirements, a license to practice or teach one or rmore of 

the branches of cosmetology as operator, or manicurist, or to act as 
owner, instructor or manager of a beauty parlor or school of cos­
metology as the case may be. * * * " (Italics the writer's.) 

Section 1082-8, General Code, provides in part: 

"*** *** * * * 
Every license issued by the board shall specify the occupation, 

or occupations which said license entitles the holder thereof to 
practice." 
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Section 1082-9, General Code, provides in part: 

" "' "' "' and every such license shall be prima facie evidence of 
the right of the holder thereof to practice cosmetology or the branch 

thereof which the license designates." (Italics the writer's.) 

As you state in your request the State Board of Cosmetology has m 
conformity with the above provisions specified the branch or branches of 
cosmetology on the face of the license which the particular licensee is per­
mitted to practice. Certainly from a reading of the entire Act an applicant 
upon being found qualified for some of such work is not entitled to a license to 
perform all the work covered by the definition of the "practice of cosmetology" 
in Section 1082-1, General Code. Such a conclusion would be inconsistent 
with the language of Sections 1082-8, 1082-9 and 1082-10, General Code, 
supra, read as a whole, and subversive of a principal reason and purpose of 
the entire Cosmetology Ac~, to safeguard the public from unskilled and incom­
petent beauty operators. Thus the right to practice may be limited and the 
licensee may be restricted to those specific branches of cosmetology in which 
she is found to be qualified. 

Section 1082-17, General Code, provides inter alia: 

"Beauty parlors shall be in charge of and under the immediate 
supervision of a licensed managing cosmetologist. * * * " 

From the provisions commented on above it would appear that the Gen­
eral Assembly contemplated that particular beauty parlors might have only 
certain branches of cosmetology practiced therein, and that a person licensed 
as a manager in a particular branch of cosmetology could only be the manager 
or supervisor of certain types of beauty shops, depending on the scope of the 
business conducted therein, this being a necessary consequence of the require­
ments of the sections of the Cosmetology Act quoted supra. 

I come now to a consideration of your first question. Section 1082-5, 
General Code, provides in toto: 

"On and after 60 days after the appointment of the examining 
board by the governor, and thereafter, at stated periods, the board 
shall hold an examination for the licensing of operator or mani­
curist, or shall issue licenses, as the case may be, to any person who 
shall have made application to the board in proper form and paid the 
required fee, and who are not otherwise exempted under this act as 
provided in this act and who shall be qualified as follows: 

(a) Applicants for a manager cosmetologist license, shall re­
ceive a license as such without an examination, providing they are not 
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less than twenty-one years of age; have practiced in a beauty parlor 
or school of cosmetology as operators for at least 6 months immedi­
ately prior to application; be of good moral character, and shall pay 
the required fee. 

(b) Applicants for an operator's license shall not be less than 
16 years of age; have a total experience of at least seven hundred and 
fifty hours of instruction in the majority of the branches of cosmet­
ology or a proportionate number of hours in any lesser group of sub­
jects related to each other in a school of cosmetology; be of good 
moral character, and shall have an education equivalent to the eighth 
grade of public school, and shall pay the required fee. 

(c) Applicants for a manicurist's license shall not be less than 
16 years of age ; be of good moral character; and shall have had at 
least practical training of 150 hours in an approved school of cos­
metology and shall pay the required fee. Provided, however, that on 
and after one year from the passage of this act no person shall re­
ceive a license as manager of a beauty parlor, except upon the pay­
ment of the required fee,· and 

(d) Who has not been actually engaged in the practice of 
manager of a beauty parlor in another state or territory of the United 
States, or the District of Columbia, for a period of 5 years; or, 

(e) Who has not had a training of at least one thousand 
hours, in the majority of the branches, in a school of cosmetology 
approved by the board, and has served as an operator not less than 
eighteen months in a licensed beauty parlor,· or, 

(f) Who has served less than three years as an operator in a 
licensed beauty parlor in which a majority of the occupations of a 
cosmetologist are practiced." (Italics the writer's.) 

It is a well recognized rule that the legislature's intention must be 
ascertained from the language used in the statute (Coal Co. vs. Lay, 37 0. 
App., 433) and if the statute is free from ambiguity, and clearly expresses the 
intention of the legislature it cannot otherwise be construed. (Ohio Savings 
& Trust Co. vs. Schneider, 25 0. App., 259; State ex rel. vs. Brown, 121 
0. S., 329). Consequently as it is now more than a year since the passage of 
the Cosmetology Act, by virtue of the express prohibition in paragraphs (e) 
and (f) of Section 1082-5, General Code, the operators mentioned in your 
first question would not be eligible for a manager's license to shampoo and 
finger-wave hair. There is one apparent, but not real, exception to these 
provisions of Section 1082-5, General Code, and that is where a person has 
already received a license by exemption or examination as manager inasmuch 
as under Section 1082-13, General Code, such original manager's license, if 
the person continues in the actual practice of cosmetology, must be renewed 
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on the payment of the required renewal fee, even though the particular licensee 
does not possess all of the qualifications laid down under these proviSions 
referred to supra. 

With respect to your second question the answer is apparent from the 
discussion supra that the operator, if he or she so desires, may be licensed as an 
operator in all subjects, or she may have her manager's license renewed in 
shampooing and finger-waving, and obtain an operator's license in the branches 
of cosmetology in which she has satisfactorily passed an examination. 

In answer to your third question, since in paragraphs (e) and (f) of 
Section 1082-5, General Code, quoted supra, the language employed is "in a 
licensed beauty parlor" it is evident that the General Assembly intended the 
necessary experience to be acquired by the applicant in Ohio licensed beauty 
parlors, and did not mean to take into account past experience in shops which 
could not, as a matter of fact, have been licensed prior to September 28, 1933, 
the date the Cosmetology Act went into effect. 

Your fourth question involves an interpretation of Section 1082-10, 
General Code, which provides inter alia: 

"All persons who have been engaged in the actual practice of 
any branch or branches of cosmetology in established places of busi­
ness * * ·~ at the time of the taking effect of this act (September 
28, 1933) shall, upon application to the board as provided in this 
act and upon payment of each applicant of a fee of five ( $5.00) 
dollars be granted, without examination, and without complying 
with the age or educational requirements, a license to practice * * * 
one or more of the branches of cosmetology as operator, or mani­
curist, or to act as owner, * * * or manager of a beauty parlor 
* * * as the case may be. * * r•" (Italics the writer's). 

Evidently the above provision means persons who were in the business of 
practicing cosmetology when the Cosmetology Act took effect. A literal 
construction would work much hardship since illustrative cases might be of 
persons having their employment terminated several months before the taking 
effect of the Act, who might, on September 28, 1933, have been seeking em­
ployment in the business of cosmetology. Or a manager-owner might have 
sold his or her shop and have been intending to buy another on the effective 
date of the Act. Consequently it is my opinion, because of a paucity of de­
cisions even remotely related to the proper interpretation of such exemption 
section, that the State Board of Cosmetology must simply follow a rule of 
reason or common sense dependent on the intent of the particular applicant 
and the time prior to the effective date of the Act that their practice of cos­
metology terminated, or, in other words, with reference to the time element a 
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"reasonable length of time." It is thought that a more categorical answer to 
your. fourth question cannot be given. 

With respect to your fifth question from a· legal standpoint the fact 

that the applicant took the examination and failed to pass it would not be 
a factor in the consideration of the question of whether or not such applicant 

should be exempted under Section 1082-10, General Code. In other words, 
either the applicant is or is not entitled to an exemption under the Act and 
the taking of the examination is not a relevant factor to be considered. 

The anwser to your sixth question is unquestionably in the affirmative. 
Consequently in specific answer to your inquiries, it is my opinion that: 

1. Cosmetology operators who are licensed by exemption as operators 
to shampoo and finger-wave hair may not now be issued a manager's license 
m shampooing and finger-waving unless they comply with the provisions ot 
Section 1082-5, paragraphs (e) or (f). 

2. A person licensed as a manager by exemption to do shampooing and 
finger-waving if she takes the necessary preliminary schooling in other 
branches of cosmetology and passes the examinations satisfactorily in such 

branches, may be licensed as an operator in all the branches of cosmetology 
or may be licensed as an operator in the branches of cosmetology satisfactorily 
passed by examination and her manager's license to shampoo and finger-wave 

hair renewed. 
3. Cosmetology experience prior to September 28, 1933 may not be 

taken into consideration in the issuance of a manager's license under para­

graphs (e) and (f) of Sections 1082-5, General Code. 
4. With reference to exemptions under Section 1082-10, The State 

Board of Cosmetology should follow a rule of reason dependent upon the 
intent of the particular applicant and the time prior to the effective date of 
the Act that her actual practice of cosmetology terminated. 

5. Whether or not an applicant fails to pass an examination for an 
operator is not a relevant factor in the determination of whether or not such 
person is eligible under Section 1082-10, General Code, to exemption. 

6. It is reasonable for the State Board of Cosmetology to refuse to 
grant a license by exemption under Section 1082-10 to operators who were 
actually out of the practice of cosmetology for more than three years prior to 
September 28, 1933. 

Respectfully, 
JoHN W. BRICKER, 

Attorney General. 


