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OPINION NO. 76-037 

1. A board of education may pursuant to R.C. 3313.64, 
ado

Syllabus: 

pt a policy allowing persons over twenty-one years of age 
to attend regular high school classes upon the payment of 
tuition at a rate fixed by the board of education. 

2. A board of education which has, pursuant to R.C. 
3313. 64, adrni tted persons over t\'lenty-onc years of age to 
regular high school classes, may not count such students in 
computing its average daily mewJ-Jersh:i.p unc.cr R.C. 3317.03 
for purposes of state foundation payments under R.C. Chapter 
3317. 

To: Thomas E. Ferguson, Auditor of State, Columbus, Ohio 
By: William J. Brown, Attorney General, May 11, 1976 
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Your 	request for my op111ion poses the following questions: 

1. 	 Does Ohio Law permit a board of education 

to adopt a policy allowing persons over 

21 years of ase to attend regular high 

school classes free of charge, or in the 

alternative at some fixed tuition rate? 


2. 	 If students over the age of 21 years may 

be permitted to attend regular high school 

classes, may such students be counted in 

the minimnro number of students required 

for fundir,g under the school foundation 

program? 


3. 	 If such students are permitted to attend 

high school classes, is the board of 

education required to establish a 

tuition rate to cover the cost of their 

education? 


Boards of educ&tion are by statute given general control 
over the operation of the schools which are a part of their 
districts. See R.C. 3313.20 and R.C. 3313.47. 

Further, it has been held that these statutory provisions vest 
broad authority in boards of education and that courts will not 
interfere with the exercise of that authority in the absence of 
a showing of an abuse of discretion by the board. Greco v. Roper, 
145 Ohio St. 243 (1945); State, ex rel. Idle v. Chamberlain, 
34 Ohio Op. 2d 262 (C.P. 1961 

However, with respect to the admission of pupils, the 
General Assembly has required boards of education to provide free 
education to "school residents" of "school age," while authorizing 
the admission of other persons "upon the payment of tuition within 
the limitation of law." See R.C. 3313.48 and 3313.64, which 
may be set out in pertinent part as follows: 

R.C. 	 3313. 48 

"The board of education of each city, 

exempted village, local, and joint vocational 

school district shall provide for the free 

education of the youth of school Hge within 

the district under its jurisdiction, at such 

places as will be most convenient for the 

attendance of the largest number thereof. 


II 

R.C. 	 3313. 64 

"The schools of each city, exempted 

village, or local school district shall be 

free to all school residents between five 

and twenty-one years of age, but the time 

in the school year at which beginners may 

enter elementary school shall be subject to 

section 3321.01 of the Revised Code, and 

the rules and regulations of the board of 

education. School residents shall be all 

youth who are children or wards of actual 
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residents of the school district. II 

II 

"The board of education of a city, 

exempted village, or local school district 

may admit other persons to the public schools 

of its respective district upon the payment 

of tuition wIThin the limitation of law. 


"A board of education, after approving 

their admission, may waive the payment of 

tuition for the attendance of students who 

are residents or domiciliarics of a foreign 

nation, who seek admission as foreign exchange 

students, and who arc temporarily residing in 

the school district." 


(Emphasis added.) 

It follows that these statutes contemplate the admission 
of pupils who are ineligible for free schooling, either because 
of non-residency or because they are not of "school age". 
As to whether a school board ~ay admit such pupils free of 
charge, it should be noted that R.C. 3313.64 provides that 
in the case of non-resident pupils tuition, as computed pur­
suant to R.C. 3317.08, be p~id by the district of residence. 
With respect to pupils who are beyond school age, the board of 
education is empowered to admit such persons "upon the payment 
of tuition within the limitation of law." 

However, while the General Assembly specifically provided 
for the waiver of tuition in the case of certain foreign students, 
no such authority is granted to waive the tuition in the case 
of students who are beyond school age. On this point I would 
refer you to 1972 Op. Att'y Gen. No. 72-099, in which I approved 
and followed an earlier opinion and held that a board of 
education was neither obligated to nor permitted to pay the 
tuition of a child under school age, who resides in the district 
and attends a kindergarten program in another district. In 
the earlier opinion, 1969 Op. Att'y Gen. No. 69-111, my prede­
cessor reasoned that R.C. 3313.64 implicitly required a child 
under the mandatory school age to pay tuition. The same 
rationale is applicable to students, who arc above school age 
and, therefore, not entitled to free education. 

Therefore, in answer to your first question, a board of 
education may adopt a policy allowing persons over twenty-one 
years of age to attend regular high school classes, but only 
upon the payment of tuition. 

Your second C]Uestion is whether such students, if admitted 
to regular high school classes, may be counted in the minimum 
number of students required for funding under the school 
foundation prograr.:. R.C. 3317. 022 provides for the computation 
and distribution of state basic aid to each school district in 
accordance with a formula set out in that section. Among other 
factors used in the formula is the average daily membership, 
which is determined pursuant to R.C. 3317.03. That section 
reads in pertinent part: 

"(C) In each school there shall be maintained 

a record of school r-,er..bership which record shall 


Jul~ 197t, .'\d\. Shc:ct!-1 



OAG 76-037 ATTORNEY GENERAL 2-126 

accurately show, for each day the school is in 

session, the actual membership enrolled in regular 

day classes. For the purpose of determining average 

daily membership, the membership figure of any school 

shall not include any pupils except those who are 

school residents of the school district in which the 

school is located and those who are attending the 

school in the capacity of tuition pupilw pursuant 

to section 3327.04 of the Revised Code •••• 

There shall not be included in the membership of 

any school any pupil who has graduated from the 

twelfth grade of a public high school, any pupil 

who is not a resident of the state, or any pupil 

who has attained the age of twenty-one years 

exceet persons suffering from tuberculosis and 

receiving treatment in any approved state, county, 

district, or municipal tuberculosis hospital who 

have not graduated from the twelfth gra,~e of a 

public high school and veterans of the armed services 

whose attendance was interrupted before completing 

the recognized twelve year course of the public 

schools by reason of induction or enlistment in the 

armed forces and who apply for re-enrollment in 

the public school system of their residence not 

later than four years after termination of war or 

their honorable discharge." 


(Emphasis added.) 

Therefore, while a board of education may admit to its schools 
studclnts who are over twenty-one years of age, it may not count 
such persons in its average daily membership for purposes of 
state foundation payments. 

Your final question is whether the board of education is 
required to establish a tuition rate to cover the cost of the 
education of students who are over twenty-one years of age. I 
find no statute which fixes the amount of tuition which must be 
charged such students •. However, as discussed in my answer to 
your first question, the board may not waive tuition for these 
students. Therefore, the board of education must deterrnine a 
rate of tuition to be charged. In doing so the board may take 
notice of other sections in which the Generc1l Assembly has set 
out guidelines for the computation of tuition. 

Specifically, R.C. 3317.08 provides for the payment of tuition 
by the district of residence to another school district which 
provides education to non-resident pupils of school age. The 
amount of tuition is determined according to a formula \·,hich 
yi-=lds what may be characterized as the net operating cost per 
pupil. 

Similarly R.C. 3313.641 authorizes the admission of adults 
to evening or day schools for adults and out of school youth, 
upon the payment of such tuition as the boc1rcl prescribes. 
R.C. 3313.644 authorizes a board of educati01. to enter a contract 
with a state or federal agency for the education of adults, 
provided that if the board permits the attenc.ance of non-residents, 
the contract must provide for rejmbursernent to the district of 
the entire cost of educating such non-residents. 

It appears then that the determination of tuition for adults 
attending regular classes is a matter within the discretion of 
the board of education. However, while the General Assembly has 
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not prescribed a formula to be used in computing the amount to be 
charged, the nature of the requirement of tuition is such that the 
board of education should establish a rate adequate to meet the 
actual cost of providing such education. It should be noted, 
though, that since this is a matter left by the General Assembly 
to the discretion of the board of education, the board's determi­
nation of a tuition charge would not be subject to challenge in 
the absence of a showing of an abuse of discretion, State, 
ex rel. Idle v. Chamberlain, supra. --­

In specific answer to your question, it is my opinion 
and you are so advised that: 

1. A board of education may, pursuant to R.C. 3313.64, 
adopt a policy allowing persons over twenty-one years of age 
to attend regular high school classes upon the payment of tuition 
at a rate fixed by the board of education. 

2. A board of education which has, pursuant to R.C. 3313.64, 
admitted persons over twenty-one years of age to regular high 
school classes, may not count such students in computing its 
average daily membership under R.C. 3317.03 for purposes of state 
foundation payments under R.C. Chapter 3317. 
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