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OPINION NO. 75-002

Syllabus:

R.C. 4503.12(C) does not permit the unused portion of a
credit subtracted in a prior transfer of registration to be
carried over to a later transfer of registration in order to

reduce or eliminate any "additional fee" due upon the laterx
transfer.

To: James A. Garry, Registrar, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Columbus, Ohio
By: William J. Brown, Attorney General, January 9, 1975

Your request for my opinion as to the fees to be charged
upon transfer of registration of a motor vehicle reads as
follows:

"We respectfully request an opinion regarding
Section 4503.12 of the Motor Vehicle Laws of Ohio.

"In the past, it has been the policy of the
BMV to:

"(a) collect additional fees plus a transfer
fee ($1.00) if the transfer of a commercial regis-
tration involves transfer to a vehicle in a higher
weight classification.

"(b) collect only a transfer fee ($1.00) if
the transfer of a commercial registration involves
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transfer to a vehicle in a lower weight classi-
fication.

"At this time we are studying a change in
policy in cases where a series of commercial regis-
tration transfers are initiated by one individual.

"For example: An individual purchases #20
commercial plates and later transfers the regis-
tration to a #12 truck (lower weight). Only a
transfer fee of $1.00 is charged. No additional
fee is collected. See (b) above.

"Some time later, the same individual transfers
the #12 registration to a #18 truck (higher weight).
At this time an additional fee is charged. See (a) above.

"The point of contention is this:

"Should the individual be allowed to apply
credit from his first transfer (#20 down to #12)
toward his second transfer (#12 back up to #18)7?

"Historically, the BMV has contended that
the two transfers in the example were separate

and distinct transactions and therefore refunds
have not been given.

"We now feel that a credit might indeed be
proper in cases of multiple transfers within the
same licensing year.

"Should we proceed with this new interpretation
and permit credits?"

The Section of the Revised Code to which you refer, R.C.
4503.12, in pertinent part, provides as follows:

, "Upon the transfer of ownership of a
motor vehicle, the registration of such motor
vehicle shall expire, and the original owner
shall immediately remove such number plates
from such motor vehicle, except that:

e & * * & N * & &

" (C) Should the original owner make application
for the registration of another motor vehicle at any
time during the remainder of the current registration
year, he may file an application for transfer of
registration accompanied by a transfer fee of one
dollar and the original certificate of registration.
The transfer of such number plates from the motor
vehicle for which originally issued to a motor vehicle
purchased by the same person in whose name the original
number plates were issued shall be done within a period
not to exceed ten days. At the time of application
for transfer the registrar of motor vehicles shall
compute and collect an additional fee, based
upon the amount which would be due on a new
registration as of the date on which the
Yicense plates were first displayed on the
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motor vehicle to which the registration is

to be transferred, less a credit for the

unused portion of the orIgInaI regIstration
eginning on the date suc ates are 8-
Tayed on the motor vehicle to which regis-
tration 1s to be transferred., 1n computing

the amount due and credits to be allowed as

of any date during a current registration year,

the firat day of the quarterly period in which

such date occurs shall apply. As to passenger

carg, trucks, trailers, and motorcycles, trans-
fers within the same class only shall be allowed."

(Emphasis added.)

At the outset, it must be noted that the language of R.C,
4503.12(C) provides the proper method for computation of the
"additional fee," if any, due upon the transfer of any type of
motor vehicle registration. The computation of the fee is not a
matter of policy. The method prescribed by the statute must be
followed as a matter of law. Once the proper interpretation has
been made, there can be no change in the method of computation
prior to an amendment of the statute.

The plain language of R.C. 4503.12(C) indicates that the
only credit to be taken into account in calculating the
"additional fee," if any, due upon a transfer of registration
is that given "for the unused portion of the original registration
beginning on the date such plates are displayed on the motor
vehicle to which registration is to be transferred." Clearly,
the "original registration" refers to that registration immediately
preceding the "new registration." The statutory computation
provided in R.C. 4503,12(C) does not contemplate credits for
any prior to that period "beginning on the date such plates are
displayed on the motor vehicle to which registration is to be trans-
ferred." When there is a gseries of transfers of registration by
the same person within a single year, only the unused portion of the
registration immediately preceding the last new registration is
to be taken as a credit. Thus, credits from prior transfers
cannot be carried over to reduce or eliminate an additional fee
due upon a present transfer of registration. It is apparent
from the face of R.C. 4503.12(C) that such section contemplates
the calculation of additional fees on an individual transfer
basis. I conclude, therefore, that your new interpretation of
R.C. 4503.12(C), which would involve the integration of several
transfers, is not the proper interpretation. Your traditional
interpretation, that transfers of registration under R.C.
4503,12(C) must be kept separate and distinct, is correct.

Opinion No. 2127, Opinions of the Attorney General for 1921,
Vol. I, p. 456, provides some authority for this conclusion.
In that Opinion, my predecessor had occasion to construe G.C.
6294-1, the predecessor of R.C. 4503,12(C). At that time, the
Section read as follows:

"Upon the transfer of ownership of a motor
vehicle its ragistration shall expire, and it
shall be the duty of the original owner to
immediately notify the secretary of state of the
name and address of the new owner and return to
the secretary of state the registration certificate
for cancellation. The original owner shall also
remove number plates from a motor vehicle upon
transfer of ownership of such vehicle. Should the
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original owner make application for the registration
of another motor vehicle within thirty days after
such cancellation, he may file a new application
accompanied by a fee of one dollar, and pay the tax
thereon, less the amount of the tax that would be
collected on account of the vehicle transferred, on
e date of such application.
{(Emphasis added.)

Although the above-quoted language provides a method of compu-
tation different from that now provided in R.C. 4503.12(C),
it is similar to R.C. 4503.12(C) in that some credit, however
calculated, is to be given in respect to the prior registration
fee. In Opinion No. 2127, supra, my predecessor was confronted
with the following questions:

"(1) Transferring license plates from one
vehicle tc another. The above section provides
that transfer may be made on a new application
by the owner on payment of a fee of one dollar
and paying the tax thereon less the amount of the
tax that would be collected on account of the
vehicle transferred on the date of such application,
For example, Jones sells his Ford car, $8.00 horse
pover fee, takes off and cancels his license number
on that car; later he buys a Hudson, $12,00 horse
power fee, makes a new application, pays the
difference of $4.00 and a transfer fee of $1.00,
totaling $5.00. The question causing so much
controversy with the public is, can the department
make a refund with the conditions reversed as
follows: He sells his Hudson, $12.00 horse power
fee, and transfers to a new Ford, $8.00 horse
pover fee.

"(2) Jones registers a Packard Twin Six,
paying $20.00; sells it and buys a Ford, makes
a transfer with $1.00 fee, sells the Ford and
buys a Packard Twin Six; additional fee $12.00,
transfer $1.00; total, $13.00; goes through the
same operation four times, at the end of which he
has his license on a Ford car and has paid $56.00
aside from the transfer fees of $4.00 for licensing
the same. The department to date has followed the
above plan; shall it continue?”

In answering the second question, which is similar to the.
question you now present, my predecessor, at p. 458 of the
Opinion, came to the following conclusion:

"The plan outlined as the procedure followed
by your department appears to be in strict conformity
with the law, and while there may be apparent hardship
visited upon automobile owners who find it necessary
to secure new license tags on account of transfers of
their cars, the fact remains that the law provides
for such a course, and this office finds no reason to
criticize your plan in the slightest particular.”

In specific answer to your question, it is my opinion and
you are so advised that R.C. 4503.12(C) does not permit the
unused portion of a credit subtracted in a prior transfer of
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registration to be carried over to a later transfer of regis-

tration in order to reduce or eliminate any "additional fee"
due upon the later transfer,
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