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SUMMARY

This Amendment would add a new section 12 to Article XV of the Ohio Constitution to provide for the legalization of the use of
medical marijuana by patients with debilitating medical conditions if a medical marijuana certification has been provided by the
patient’s treating physician and the use of marijuana and marijuana-infused products for personal use in amounts of one ounce or less
by individuals 21 years of age or older, by providing, among other provisions:

1. Establishing the Ohio Marijuana Control Commission (“Commission”) to regulate the acquisition, growth, cultivation, extraction,
production, processing, manufacture, testing, distribution, retail sales, licensing, and taxation of medical marijuana, marijuana and
marijuana-infused products and the operations of marijuana establishments, as defined in the Amendment. The Commission would be
composed of seven members appointed by the governor with varying backgrounds and qualifications and for terms as set forth in the
Amendment. All are required to be Ohio residents. The Amendment sets forth specific subject matter for regulations to be
promulgated by the Commission and requires the Commission to establish a system for real-time tracking of all medical marijuana,
marijuana and marijuana-infused products from initial germination and/or extraction through the final consumer transaction. The
Commission would also serve as a clearinghouse for scientific and medical research on medical marijuana, marijuana and marijuana-
infused products. The Commission is required to employ necessary and qualified persons, including enforcement agents, and retain
services of qualified third parties, including experts, to perform its duties.

2. Providing that it is lawful for persons 21 years of age or older to purchase, possess, transport, use and share with another person 21
years of age or older marijuana of one ounce or less or its equivalent in marijuana-infused products, as determined by the
Commission, and marijuana accessories; except that persons from states where marijuana is not legal may only purchases 1/4 ounce or
its equivalent in marijuana-infused products.

3. Providing that it is lawful for persons 21 years of age or older to: grow, cultivate, use, possess and share with another person 21
years of age or older homegrown marijuana in an amount not to exceed eight marijuana plants of which only four can be flowering
marijuana plants and eight ounces of usable homegrown marijuana at a given time and to possess, transport, use and share with
another person 21 years of age or older homegrown marijuana of one ounce or less or its equivalent in marijuana-infused products.

4. Prohibiting the use of marijuana, homegrown marijuana, and marijuana-infused products in any public place or on the grounds of a
public or chartered nonpublic elementary or secondary school, state licensed child day-care center, correctional facility or community
corrections facility, or in a moving vehicle, aircraft, train or motorboat, except that a patient may use medical marijuana in accordance
with a medical marijuana certification, and requiring the General Assembly to pass laws enforcing these provisions.

5. Providing for Commission licensed not-for-profit medical marijuana dispensaries (“MMD”) to dispense medical marijuana to
patients with debilitating medical conditions and to their Commission licensed caregivers with a medical marijuana certification issued
by the patient’s current treating physician in accordance with specific requirements set forth in the Amendment and in accordance
with Commission and other state regulations, and providing that medical marijuana may only be sold and dispensed by such state
licensed and regulated dispensaries. Both the patient and the patient’s physician must be Ohio residents. The Amendment defines
“debilitating medical condition,” including specific medical conditions, and requires the Commission to establish and annually update,
consistent with current, peer-reviewed research, the list of debilitating medical conditions for which medical marijuana certifications
may be issued. The number of such state licensed and regulated dispensaries that may be within any subdivision would be determined
by the Commission. MMDs must be incorporated under Ohio law. If the patient is under the age of 18, treatment involving medical
marijuana may not be provided without the informed consent of a custodial parent, guardian, conservator or other person with lawful
authority to consent to medical treatment. Provide that a physician may not be disciplined or subject to certain other actions based
solely on discussing with a patient or providing a professional opinion on the use of medical marijuana as a treatment option or issuing
a medical marijuana certification under the Amendment. Require MGCE and MPM facilities to sell medical marijuana and medical
marijuana-infused products, respectively, to MMDs at their lowest wholesale prices and in sufficient quantity to satisfy patient



demand. Provide that nothing in the Amendment shall require any health insurance provider or government agency to reimburse a
patient for expenses for medical marijuana.

6. Provide for the first 5 years, MGCEL, MGCES and MPM facilities have minimum ownership interest by individuals who have been
a resident of Ohio for at least 2 years. For MGCEL facilities, 40%; for MGCES facilities 80%; and for MPM facilities 40%.

7. Providing for Commission licensed retail marijuana stores (“RMS”) to sell marijuana and marijuana-infused products to individuals
21 years of age or older for personal use and that marijuana and marijuana-infused products for personal use may be sold only by such
state licensed and regulated stores. The Commission would determine the number of RMSs that may be within any political
subdivision. However, the total number of stores statewide would be limited by the ratio of one to ten thousand based on the state’s
population, and the location of any such store must first be approved by the electors of the precinct where the store would be located at
a special election similar to elections for the sale of alcohol at a particular location in a precinct, except for provisions unique to liquor
local option elections. The Amendment also sets forth provisions governing the timing, holding, funding, and conduct of such
elections. A RMS could purchase marijuana only from licensed MGCE facilities and marijuana-infused products only from licensed
MPM facilities and sell no other goods or services, except for marijuana accessories and related products. No marijuana or marijuana-
infused product could be consumed on the store’s premises or be sold at a price below what the store paid for it.

8. Providing for Commission licensed Marijuana Product Manufacturing (“MPM”) facilities to produce marijuana infused and medical
marijuana-infused products and that such products may be produced only at these state regulated facilities. The Commission would be
required to regulate the chemical content and potency of marijuana-infused products and create a special division within the
Commission to assist in promulgation of standards regulating the manufacture, packaging and advertising of marijuana-infused
products, including ensuring that the products are not manufactured, packaged or advertised in ways that create a substantial risk of
attractiveness to children.

9. Providing for 40 locations for Commission licensed Marijuana Growth, Cultivation and Extraction (“MGCE”) facilities; 10
MGCEL facilities and 30 MGCES facilities each group with different requirements. Setting forth conditions under which the
Commission may relocate, revoke, transfer or add a MGCE facility or issue a license for a MGCE facility at a site other than the initial
40 locations. Provide 10 reference property lines that all MGCE facilities will be on or near. Providing that marijuana and medical
marijuana may be grown, cultivated and extracted for sale and medical use only at these state regulated and licensed facilities. One of
the ten MGCEL facilities will be located in each of the following counties: Butler, Clermont, Franklin, Hamilton, Licking, Lorain,
Lucas, Delaware, Stark, and Summit. The 30 MGCES sites will each be within 2500' of one of the above 10 reference property lines.

10. Prohibiting a marijuana establishment from being located within 1,000 feet of the primary building structure used for any of the
following: a house of worship, a public or chartered nonpublic elementary or secondary school, a publicly owned library, or a state
licensed child day-care facility; or within 1,000 feet of any public playground or a playground adjacent to any of the foregoing
primary building structures, if such school, library, playground, daycare facility, or house of worship was located within the 1,000
zone on or before 1/1/15 in the case of the 40 MGCE facilities, or an applicant’s first application for a license in the case of an
additional MGCE facility, a MPM facility, MMD or RMS.

11. Provides for the Commission: to set rigorous renewable energy standards for MGCE facilities that are not unreasonably
impracticable; track monthly electric usage for each MGCE facility and each Bud Room area within a MGCE facility; and to
implement rules for minimum efficiency requirements for MGCE facilities which are not unreasonably impracticable. Penalties for
non-compliance may include limits on electric usage, civil penalties or other mechanisms.

12. Prohibiting a person from having an ownership interest in or being an officer or director of a marijuana establishment who is under
the age of 21 or has been convicted of a felony within the prior five years and from continuing to hold an ownership interest or officer
or director position upon conviction of a felony and exhaustion of any appeals. Prohibiting a person from having an ownership interest
in, or be an officer or director of both a MGCEL facility and a MGCES facility.

13. Providing for Commission licensed Marijuana Testing Facilities (“MTF”) to engage in research related to and/or certify safety and
potency of medical marijuana, marijuana and marijuana-infused products. Such facilities, at a minimum, must be located near colleges
and universities in Athens, Cuyahoga, Lorain, Mahoning, Scioto and Wood Counties.

14. Providing for a Commission licensed Marijuana Grow Systems Equipment Testing Laboratory (MGSETL) which may have 1 or
more facilities on one or more real properties to test lighting and other grow room equipment and systems on MGSETL marijuana that
it will grow for; energy efficiency, effectiveness, cost efficiency and final product output, in simulated commercial grow
environments. The MGSETL facility(s) provisional license takes effect upon adoption of this section. All output from testing will be
disposed of in accordance with Commission rules and regulations except for samples sent to a MTF and made available to all MGCEs.
Test parameters, acquired data and test results will also be made available and posted to the intemet.

15. Imposing a special flat tax of 15% on all gross revenue of each MGCE facility and MPM facility, and 5% on all gross revenue of
each retail marijuana store, without any deduction for expenses or distribution of any profit. Such tax would be collected and
distributed by the state as follows: 54% to a Municipal and Township Government Stabilization Fund with 60% of such funds being
distributed to every municipality and township on a per capita basis, excluding, in the case of a township, population that is also



within a municipality; and 40% of such funds being distributed to municipalities and townships who have “opted in” on a per capita
basis, excluding, in the case of a township, population that is also within a municipality; 30% to a Strong County Fund to be
distributed to all counties on a per capita basis to be used for public safety and health, including police, fire and emergency medical
services, road and bridge repair, and other infrastructure improvements; and 15% to a Marijuana Control Commission Fund to be
distributed in the following order for: the reasonable and necessary costs of operating the Commission; funding for MGSETL the
marijuana grow systems equipment testing laboratory for ten years; funding for the marijuana innovation and business incubator
established under the Amendment; to the extent the Commission so elects, the reasonable and necessary operating costs of the not-for-
profit medical marijuana dispensaries established under the Amendment; mental health and addiction prevention and treatment
programs and services; and to the extent that the Commission so elects, a program to provide low-cost medical marijuana to qualifying
patients who are unable to afford the full cost. Distributed funds from the special flat tax are to supplement, not supplant, funding
obligations of the state and local governments imposed by other laws. Municipal and Township Government Stabilization Funds are to
be used for public safety and health, including police, fire and emergency medical services, road and bridge repair, and other
infrastructure improvements.

16. In addition to the special flat tax, each MGCE facility, MPM facility and RMS would be required to pay the state commercial
activities tax and all other taxes, assessments, fees and charges as are required to be paid by businesses in general and would be
prohibited from receiving any credit, deduction or abatement that is unavailable to other businesses. MMDs would be required to pay
the same taxes, assessments, fees and charges that other not-for-profit organizations are required to pay. Additional, taxes,
assessments, fees or charges, other than license fees required under the Amendment, could not be imposed on the operations, revenue
or distributed income of marijuana establishments.

17. Prohibiting knowingly selling or transferring medical marijuana, marijuana, homegrown marijuana or marijuana infused products
to a person under the age of 21, except for transfers or sales by a MMD to a qualifying patient or caregiver in accordance with
Commission regulations, and requiring the General Assembly to pass laws defining such conduct as child endangerment and enacting
enhanced penalties for violations of such laws.

18. Prohibiting the employment of any person under the age of 21 by any marijuana establishment. Prohibiting any person under the
age of 21 from being on the premises of a marijuana establishment, except in the case of a patient 18 to 20 years old at a MMD to
obtain medical marijuana under a medical marijuana certification issued for such patient. Providing that a caregiver must be 21 years
of age or older, be the person responsible for managing the well being of a patient with a debilitating medical condition and that the
person’s responsibilities to the patient must include more than the provision of medical marijuana.

19. Prohibiting persons from operating or being in physical control of a moving vehicle, aircraft, train or motorboat while under the
influence of medical marijuana, marijuana, homegrown marijuana or marijuana-infused products, and requiring the General Assembly
to pass laws imposing criminal penalties for doing so.

20. Providing that nothing in the Amendment is intended to require an employer to permit or accommodate the possession or use of
medical marijuana, marijuana, homegrown marijuana or marijuana-infused products in the workplace, except that a patient with a
medical marijuana certification may self-administer the medical marijuana subject to the same conditions applied to prescribed
medications.

21. Providing that marijuana establishments shall be subject to all applicable state and local laws and regulations related to health,
safety and building codes, including signage, but providing that no zoning, land use law, or subdivision or agricultural regulation shall
prohibit the development or operation of marijuana establishments, provided that no such establishment shall be located in a district
zoned exclusively residential as of 1/1/15 for MGCE facilities or the date that a license application is first filed for additional and
transfer MGCE facilities, MPM facilities, MMD or RMS.

22. Prohibiting MGCE, MPM and MGSETL facilities from selling or transferring medical marijuana, marijuana or marijuana infused
products directly to consumers and prohibiting a RMS from being located on the premises of a MGCE or MPM facility.

23. Providing a timeline for initial implementation of the Amendment, including for appointment of the members of the Commission,
the issuance of initial provisional licenses to operate a MGCE facility at 40 locations on or near the 10 real reference properties -
based on required affidavits and payment of a $100,000 license fee for MGCEL facilities, $10,000 for MGCES facilities, $0 for
MGSETL, inspection of such MGCE facilities within six months of issuance of such initial licenses, promulgation of initial
regulations for MGCE facilities, MPM facilities, MMDs, RMSs and MGSETL, issuance of forms and procedures for precinct special
elections, and the holding of a special election in May of the year following adoption of the Amendment for submission to voters of a
precinct the question of approval of a location of a RMS. Initial regulations required to be adopted by specific dates are to be
promulgated notwithstanding other provisions of law regarding promulgation of administrative rules, but the Commission must
provide an opportunity for public input.

24, Requiring annual license fees of $50,000 for MGCEL facilities, $5,000 for MGCES facilities $25,000 for MPM facilities and
$10,000 for RMSs, marijuana testing facilities, and MGSETL, and that such fees be adjusted upward annually for inflation.



25. Requiring the Commission beginning in the second year following adoption of the Amendment to annually audit each marijuana
establishment to certify that each establishment is in compliance with applicable rules and regulations, and if it determines that there is
material non-compliance, authorizing the Commission to order remedial action and suspend or revoke the facility’s license for failure
to comply with such order within a reasonable time. Marijuana establishments will have their licenses renewed annually unless the
Commission determines that a licensee has repeatedly failed to comply with the Commission’s remedial orders and revokes the
license. Ohio’s administrative procedure statutes generally applicable to other licensing bodies would apply to the extent not in
conflict with the Amendment. The Commission shall set forth by rule civil penalties for failure to comply with Commission
regulations, including revoking a license or enhanced penalties for repeat violations.

26. Requiring in the fourth year following adoption of the Amendment, the Commission to develop annual consumer demand metrics
for medical marijuana, marijuana and the illegal marijuana market, which may be used by the Commission in conjunction with other
findings to issue licenses for additional MGCE facilities.

27. Providing that the Commission shall serve as a clearinghouse for scientific and medical industry research on the use of marijuana,
marijuana-infused products and medical marijuana and shall establish a marijuana innovation and business incubator in Cuyahoga
County to award support to Ohio-based public and private business entities, colleges and universities, nonprofit medical centers, and
other nonprofit research institutions to engage in research and development, as well as to create new products, companies and jobs,
associated with the medical marijuana and marijuana industries in Ohio.

28. Authorizing MPM facilities to manufacture and RMSs and MMDs to sell marijuana accessories and legalize possession and use of
marijuana accessories, as defined in the Amendment.

29. Providing that the actions of marijuana establishments and their employees and agents are lawful and not subject to civil or
criminal penalties so long as the actions are in compliance with the Amendment, laws enacted by the General Assembly and the rules
of the Commission.

30. Define various terms used in the Amendment, including, but not limited to, marijuana, homegrown marijuana, medical marijuana,
marijuana-infused products, caregiver, physician, MGCEL Note Holder, MGCES Note Holder, MGSETL, MGSETL marijuana,
reference property line, bud room area, opted in, and debilitating medical condition.

31. Providing that the provisions of the Amendment are self-executing except as specified in the Amendment, and that they supersede
conflicting state and local laws, charters, regulations, and state constitutional provisions, except where otherwise indicated in the text.
The General Assembly is authorized to enact laws implementing the provisions of the Amendment that are not in conflict with those
provisions. Provide that the Amendment’s provisions do not require the violation of federal law or purport to give immunity under
federal law.

COMMITTEE TO REPRESENT THE PETITIONERS
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FULL TEXT OF AMENDMENT

Be it Resolved by the People of the State of Ohio that Article XV of the Ohio Constitution is hereby amended to
add the following Section:

§12 Legalization, Regulation and Taxation of Medical and Personal Use of Marijuana

(A) Summary

This section provides for the legalization of medical marijuana for use by persons with debilitating medical conditions and for the
legalization of marijuana and marijuana-infused products for personal use by individuals 21 years of age and older. This section
establishes the Ohio Marijuana Control Commission (“Commission”) to regulate the state’s marijuana industry in a manner similar to
the state’s regulation of alcohol. A patient may obtain medical marijuana only after being issued a medical marijuana certification by
an Ohio-licensed physician, and only from state-regulated, not-for-profit medical marijuana dispensaries. Sale of marijuana and
marijuana-infused products for personal use is limited to licensed retail marijuana stores, and the location of any such store must
receive approval of the voters of the precinct in which the store would be located. It is lawful for persons 21 years of age or older to
grow and possess no more than eight homegrown marijuana plants of which only four can be flowering; for personal, non-commercial
use; however, growth, cultivation and extraction of marijuana and medical marijuana to be sold within the state will occur only at site-
specific, state-regulated facilities. Marijuana-infused and medical marijuana infused products may be produced only by state-regulated
facilities. No marijuana establishment may be within 1,000 feet of a house of worship, a publicly-owned library, playground, an
elementary or secondary school, or a state-licensed child day-care center. Marijuana Growth, Cultivation & Extraction (“MGCE”)
facilities and Martjuana Product Manufacturing (“MPM”) facilities must pay a special flat tax equal to 15% of their gross revenue, and
marijuana retail stores must pay a special flat tax equal to 5% of their gross revenue, without any deduction for expenses.

Revenue from these special taxes must be allocated as follows: 55% to municipalities and townships of this 60% to municipalities and
townships on a per capita basis and 40% to municipalities and townships that have “opted in” on a per capita basis, 30% to counties on
a per capita basis, and 15% to a Marijuana Control Commission Fund for the reasonable and necessary costs of operating the
Commission, to provide additional funding for mental health and addiction and treatment services, and to fund a marijuana innovation
and business incubator to award support to Ohio based companies, colleges and universities, nonprofit medical centers, and other
nonprofit research institutions to engage in research and development, and to create new products, companies and jobs associated with
the medical marijuana and marijuana industries in Ohio.

(B) Use of Medical Marijuana for Debilitating Medical Conditions

It is lawful for patients with debilitating medical conditions to acquire, administer, purchase, possess, transport, and use, and for
licensed caregivers to acquire, administer, purchase, possess, transport and transfer, medical marijuana pursuant to a valid medical
marijuana certification. The state shall regulate the conduct of physicians in issuing medical marijuana certifications in a manner
similar to its regulation of medical prescriptions. A treating physician who has examined a patient and determined that he or she has a
debilitating medical condition may issue a medical marijuana certification if: (1) a bona fide physician-patient relationship exists; (2)
the physician determines the risk of the patient’s use of medical marijuana is reasonable in light of the potential benefit; and (3) the
physician has explained the risks and benefits of using medical marijuana to the patient. If the patient is younger than 18 years of age,
treatment involving medical marijuana may not be provided without consent by at least one custodial parent, guardian, conservator, or
other person with lawful authority to consent to the patient’s medical treatment. No agency, including a law enforcement agency, of
this state or of a political subdivision of this state may initiate an administrative, civil, or criminal investigation of a physician, nor
shall a physician be denied any right or privilege or be subject to any disciplinary action, solely on the ground that the physician: (1)
discussed with a patient the use of medical marijuana as a treatment option; or (2) issued a medical marijuana certification under this
section, or otherwise made a written or oral statement that, in the physician’s professional opinion, the potential benefits of the patient
using medical marijuana would likely outweigh any health risks.

(C) Establishment of Medical Marijuana Not-For-Profit Dispensaries

Medical marijuana shall only be dispensed and sold to patients and caregivers by not-for-profit medical marijuana dispensaries
licensed under this section, in accordance with a medical marijuana certification issued by the patient’s current treating physician, who
shall exercise the same professional care, ethics and judgment in doing so as is required in issuing medical prescriptions. The
Commission shall issue licenses to, and shall promulgate and enforce regulations governing the operations of, not-for-profit medical
marijuana dispensaries and caregivers. For not-for-profit medical marijuana dispensaries, such regulations shall include rules
regarding the number of licenses within any political subdivision of the state. The Commission shall promulgate the initial regulatory
rules for such dispensaries by May 30th of the year following adoption of this section. MGCE facilities and MPM facilities shall sell
to the dispensaries, at their lowest wholesale prices, medical marijuana and medical marijuana-infused products, respectively,
sufficient to satisfy patient demand for them in this state. From the Marijuana Control Commission Fund established herein, the
Commission may fund the reasonable and necessary operating costs of the not-for-profit medical marijuana dispensaries and establish
a program to provide low-cost medical marijuana to qualifying patients who are unable to afford the full cost. Nothing in this section,
however, shall require any health insurance provider or any government agency or authority to reimburse any patient for expenses
related to the use of medical marijuana.



(D) Personal Use of Marijuana and Regulation of Homegrown Marijuana

It is lawful for an Ohio resident 21 years of age or older to purchase one ounce or less of marijuana or its equivalent in marijuana-
infused products; Non-residents 21 years of age or older may only purchase 1/4 ounce of marijuana or its equivalent in marijuana-
infused products. It is lawful for persons 21 years of age or older to possess, transport, use and share with another person 21 years of
age or older one ounce or less of homegrown marijuana, marijuana or its equivalent in marijuana-infused products. It is lawful for
persons 21 years of age or older to; at that person’s place of residence to grow, cultivate, possess, use and share with another person
21 years of age or older homegrown marijuana in an amount not to exceed eight marijuana plants of which only four can be flowering
marijuana plants and eight ounces of usable homegrown marijuana at a given time; provided, that it is not grown or consumed within
public view and that home-growing takes place in an enclosed, locked space inaccessible to persons under the age of 21.

No person under the age of 21 shall be permitted to be on the premises of a marijuana establishment, except that a patient 18 to 20
years of age may be on a dispensary’s premises for the purpose of obtaining medical marijuana pursuant to a medical marijuana
certification issued for such patient. It shall be lawful for persons 21 years of age or older to purchase, possess, transfer, transport, use
and share with other persons 21 years of age or older marijuana accessories within the state; however, this age limitation shall not
apply to patients with valid medical marijuana certifications.

(E) Caregivers

The Commission shall issue licenses to, and shall promulgate and enforce regulations governing caregivers. The Commission shall
promulgate the initial regulatory rules and issue applications for caregivers by May 30th of the year following adoption of this
section.

(F) Taxation of Marijuana Revenue

The state shall levy and collect a special flat tax of 15% on all gross revenue of each MGCE facility and MPM facility, and 5% on all
gross revenue of each retail marijuana store. “Gross revenue” as used in this subdivision means 100% of all revenue received without
deduction for any expenses or distribution of any profit. Such facilities and stores shall also pay the state commercial activities tax and
all other local taxes, assessments, fees and charges as apply to businesses in general. Such facilities and stores shall not receive any
abatement, credit or deduction. Dispensaries shall pay the same taxes, assessments, fees and charges that other not-for-profit
organizations are required to pay. No additional taxes, assessments, fees or charges shall be levied on the operations, revenue, or
distributed income of a marijuana establishment, other than the license fees authorized under this section.

One hundred percent of the revenues generated from the special tax shall be collected and distributed by the state for the following
purposes (the “Purposes™):

(1) 55% to a Municipal and Township Government Stabilization Fund with 60% of such funds being distributed to every municipality
and township on a per capita basis, excluding, in the case of a township, population that is also within a municipality; and 40% of such
funds being distributed to municipalities and townships who have “opted in” on a per capita basis, excluding, in the case of a
township, population that is also within a municipality. Such funds shall be used for public safety and health, including police, fire and
emergency medical services, road and bridge repair, and other infrastructure improvements;

(2) 30% to a Strong County Fund with 100% of such funds being distributed to each county on a per capita basis. Such funds shall be
used for public safety and health, including law enforcement, economic development, road and bridge repair, and other infrastructure
improvements; and

(3) 15% to a Marijuana Control Commission Fund with 100% of such funds being distributed in the following order for: (a) the
reasonable and necessary costs of operating the Commission; (b) 2.5% to fund MGSETL the marijuana grow systems equipment
testing laboratory. This funding ends ten years after the first disbursement of funds; (b) funding for the marijuana innovation and
business incubator established hereunder; (c) to the extent the Commission so elects, the reasonable and necessary operating costs of
the not for-profit medical marijuana dispensaries established under this section, (d) mental health and addiction prevention and
treatment programs and services; and (e) to the extent the Commission so elects, a program to provide low-cost medical marijuana to
qualifying patients who are unable to afford the full cost.

The above described Funds shall be established in the state treasury and the above described special tax collected and distributed
monthly. Funds distributed under this subdivision shall supplement, not supplant, funding obligations of the state and local
governments. Accordingly, all such distributions shall be disregarded for purposes of determining whether funding obligations
imposed by other sections of this constitution or by the revised code are met. The Funds will be allocated and distributed consistent
with the foregoing Purposes by the applicable state or local government entity.

(G) Establishment of Marijuana Growth, Cultivation & Extraction Facilities

There will initially be 40 MGCE facility sites comprised of 10 MGCEL facility sites and 30 MGCES facility sites. The growth and
cultivation of marijuana and medical marijuana, and the extraction of cannabinoids from marijuana and medical marijuana, for sale
and medical use within this state shall be lawful only at licensed MGCE facilities. Subject to the exceptions set forth herein, each of
the 40 MGCE facilities will be licensed and operated by: a MGCEL Note Holder on real property that is on or within 1000 feet of
reference property lines; or a MGCES Note Holder on real property that is on or within 2500 feet of a reference property lines. The



property lines of the 10 real properties as they existed on January 1, 2015 will be used for confirming that a MGCE site meets the
MGCE provisions and limitations of this section. The 10 real properties are:

(1) Being an approximate 40.44 acre area in Butler County, Ohio, identified by the Butler County Auditor, as of February 2, 2015, as
tax parcel numbers Q6542084000008 and Q6542084000041; (2) Being an approximate 13.434 acre area in Clermont County, Ohio,
identified by the Clermont County Auditor, as of February 2, 2015, as tax parcel numbers 413103B284 and 373103E301; (3) Being an
approximate 19.117 acre area in Franklin County, Ohio, being a portion of a larger parent parcel which is identified by the Franklin
County Auditor, as of February 2, 2015, as tax parcel number 040-004959-00. The approximate 19.117 area is described as follows:
all of the real property being described as Franklin County, Ohio, tax parcel number 040-004959-00, less and except the portion of
such tax parcel lying south of the centerline of the stream known as Grant Run Tributary No. 3; (4) Being an approximate 24.466 acre
area in Hamilton County, Ohio, identified by the Hamilton County Auditor, as of February 2, 2015, as tax parcel number 500-0081-
0004; (5) Being an approximate 35.031 acre area in Licking County, Ohio, identified by the Licking County Auditor, as of February 2,
2015, as tax parcel number 063-140952- 00.000; (6) Being an approximate 76.83 acre area in Lorain County, Ohio, being a portion of
two larger parent parcels which are identified by the Lorain County Auditor, as of February 2, 2015, as tax parcel numbers 03-00-053-
108-013 and 03-00-054-102-008. The approximate 76.83 acre area is described as follows: all of the real property being described as
Lorain County, Ohio tax parcel numbers 03-00-053-108-013 and 03-00-054-102-008, less and except the portions of such tax parcels
lying northerly of a line located 2,100 feet southerly of and parallel with Colorado Avenue (also known as State Route 611); (7) Being
an approximate 28.459 acre area in Lucas County, Ohio, identified by the Lucas County Auditor, as of February 2, 2015, as tax parcel
number 22-74697; (8) Being an approximate 24.948 acre area in Delaware County, Ohio, identified by the Delaware County Auditor,
as of February 13, 2015, as tax parcel number 419- 230-01-035-000; (9) Being an approximate 27.18 acre area in Stark County, Ohio,
identified by the Stark County Auditor, as of February 2, 2015, as tax parcel number 7701271; and (10) Being an approximate
29.0052 acre area in Summit County, Ohio, identified by the Summit County Auditor, as of February 2, 2015, as tax parcel number
3009928.

No local zoning, land use laws, agricultural regulations, subdivision regulations or similar provisions or governmental consents and
approvals applicable to creating transferable legal descriptions, or to any subsequent assignment of different parcel numbers to the
aforesaid real properties shall prohibit the creation of transferable and recordable legal descriptions or separate tax parcel numbers for
any of the aforesaid real properties. No local zoning, land use laws, agricultural regulations, subdivision regulations or similar
provisions or governmental consents and approvals created or passed on or after January 1, 2015 are applicable to meeting the MGCE
provisions and limitations of this section. In addition any MGCE facility may expand its MGCE structures, related marijuana
operations, and renewable energy facilities on to adjacent real properties, these may be identified by different parcel numbers so long
as all other applicable terms of this section are met.

The Commission shall promulgate the initial regulatory rules for the operation of MGCE licensed facilities by May 30th of the year
following adoption of this section; however, the Commission shall issue the application form for a provisional license within 60 days
of the adoption of this section. If a MGCEL Note Holder chooses not to apply for a provisional license within 90 days of the adoption
of this section, the Commission may issue a license to operate a MGCEL facility at a different site that is not within 1000 feet of the
reference property line so long as the property meets the provisions and limitations of this section. The Commission will process
MGCE license applications within 30 days of receipt.

The Commission shall issue one-year provisional licenses within 90 days of the passage of this section to: MGCE Note Holders who
have ownership of or an irrevocable option to purchase of real property that meets the provisions and limitations of this section and
who have applied for licenses to operate MGCEL or MGCES facilities subject to the following conditions: Filing of a list of all
persons with an ownership position along with the time periods each person was a resident of Ohio, payment of an initial licensing fee
of $100,000 in the case of a MGCEL facility; and $10,000 in the case of a MGCES facility and the filing of affidavits by the chief
executive officer and chief financial officer affirming under oath that the facility will: comply with all requirements under this section;
comply with all applicable health, safety, prevailing wage, building code, sanitation, environmental, land use, and employment laws
and regulations not in conflict with this section; employ industry best practices with respect to the growth, cultivation and extraction
of marijuana; employ industry best practices with respect to energy efficiency; comply with generally accepted accounting principles;
comply with Commission regulations upon adoption; subject the facilities and operations to immediate inspection and review by
Commission personnel upon demand. Notwithstanding the foregoing, no existing local or state law shall be applied to prohibit the
development or operation of such facilities. No later than six months after the facility commences its operations, the Commission shall
inspect such facility and review its operations to confirm that it has complied with the assurances set forth in its officers’ affidavits. If
the Commission determines it has not, it shall order immediate remedial action as to that facility; and if the facility fails to remediate
within 120 days, the Commission will suspend the provisional license until satisfied that all remedial actions have been implemented.
If all remedial actions are not implemented within an additional 120 days, the Commission will revoke the license and issue a license
following the Transfer MGCE and Additional MGCE site guidelines in this section. The Commission shall issue non-provisional
annual licenses to MGCE facilities upon expiration of their provisional licenses so long as such facilities are meeting their obligations
under their provisional licenses and demonstrate the ability to comply with all regulations promulgated by the Commission regarding
the operation of MGCE facilities.



To ensure that the supply of regulated marijuana is adequate to meet consumer demand in this state and prices are competitive and
reduce the illegal market, beginning in the forth year following the adoption of this section, the Commission shall develop and make
publicly available annual consumer demand metrics for marijuana and medical marijuana based in substantial part on total gross sales
of each within the state in the previous year. If the Commission determines during its annual audits of the MGCE facilities that such
facilities collectively failed to produce marijuana and medical marijuana at a price point sufficient to substantially meet the published
consumer demand metrics and discourage the illegal market, new MGCEL and/or new MGCES licenses will be issued.

If the Commission determines as part of its annual audit that a MGCE facility is in material noncompliance with applicable laws or
regulations, the Commission may order remedial action; and, to the extent such MGCE facility fails to materially comply with the
Commission’s remediation order within the reasonable time period set forth by the order, the Commission may suspend or revoke the
MGCE facility’s license. If the Commission revokes a MGCE facility's license for failure to remediate material noncompliance, the
Commission will solicit applications for a MGCE facility at other sites. If a MGCE facility; fails to commence operations, terminates
operations, or indefinitely suspends its operations for 2 years, the Commission will revoke the facility’s license. Upon revocation, the
Note Holders serial number is void. Once a MGCE license is revoked, within 2 weeks, the Commission will; promulgate a notice of
MGCE license availability. When a MGCEL license is revoked, a new MGCEL license will be issued. When a MGCES license is
revoked, a new MGCES license will be issued. The Commission will solicit applications and issue a license for the additional
MGCEL and MGCES facility following the Transfer MGCE and Additional MGCE site guidelines in this section.

Transfer MGCE and Additional MGCE site guidelines: Transfer MGCE sites and Additional MGCE sites must not be within 500 feet
of a residential development. Unless unreasonably impracticable, site should not have an adjacent surface street with a average annual
daily traffic count over 7500. MGCEL sites that replace revoked licenses will be located within 1000 feet of of the reference property
line of the revoked MGCEL facilities reference property line, or the Commission can issue a license for a MGCE facility at a site other
than what has been designated herein. For new MGCEL licenses, the site can be selected by the Commission in advance of soliciting
applications by the Commission getting an irrevocable option to purchase on the real property of 20 acres or more that meet the
provisions and limitations of this section. Solicitation for applicants will include the purchase price on the real property. The cost of
the real property will be borne by the selected applicant. MGCES Sites will be located within 2500 feet of a reference property line or
if unreasonably impracticable have a Commission granted exception for property that otherwise meets the provisions and limitations
of this section. A licensed MGCEL facility may request that the Commission transfer their license to a alternate property near the
same reference property line. If the alternate property is within 1000 feet of the originally licensed property, and the licensed MGCEL
facility has ownership of the property or possesses an irrevocable option to purchase the property, and the property meets the
requirements of this section, the Commission will not unreasonably reject or deny the transfer request. If the alternate property is not
within 1000 feet of the reference property line, the Commission may make an exception. A licensed MGCES facility may request that
the Commission transfer their license to a alternate property. If the alternate property is within 2500 feet of a reference property line,
and the licensed MGCES facility has ownership of the property, or possesses an irrevocable option to purchase the property, and the
property meets the requirements of this section, the Commission will not unreasonably reject or deny the transfer request.

(H) Establishment of MGSETL Marijuana Grow Systems Equipment Testing Laboratory.

Upon adoption of this section, MGESTEL immediately has a one year provisional license with no provisional application or fee.
MGSETL shall be one or more facilities on one or more real properties. The growth and cultivation of MGSETL marijuana, shall be
lawful at the licensed MGSETL facility(s). Subject to the exceptions set forth herein, the MGSETL facility(s) will be licensed and
operated by: the MGCEL Note Holder. The MGSETL facility(s) will test new lighting and other grow equipment and systems for;
energy efficiency, effectiveness, cost efficiency and final product output, in simulated commercial grow environments. Test
parameters, acquired data and test results will be promulgated to all MGCE facilities and on the internet. The MGSETL facility(s)
provisional license takes effect upon adoption of this section. The Commission shall issue the paper version of this one-year
provisional licenses within 60 days of the passage of this section to the MGSETL Note Holder. The Commission shall promulgate the
regulatory rules and the MGSETL license renewal form by May 30th of the year following adoption of this section. The regulatory
rules shall govern; establishing and implementing a system for tracking and monitoring of all MGSETL marijuana, the security of the
facility, and disposal of test outputs. If the Commission determines as part of its annual audit that one or more of the MGSETL
facility(s) is in material noncompliance with applicable laws or regulations, the Commission may order remedial action; and, to the
extent the MGSETL facility fails to materially comply with the Commission’s remediation order within the reasonable time period set
forth by the order, the Commission may suspend or revoke the MGSETL facility’s license. The MGSETL facility(s) shall be
immediately available upon request by the Commission and law enforcement agencies.

(I) Establishment of Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facilities

The manufacturing, processing and packaging of marijuana-infused products, including medical marijuana-infused products, shall be
lawful only at licensed MPM facilities pursuant to a licensing and regulatory framework established by the Commission by May 30th
of the year following adoption of this section. MPM facilities may also manufacture, process and package marijuana accessories. Such
facilities may sell marijuana-infused products made only from marijuana purchased from licensed MGCE facilities. The Commission
shall establish rules regulating the chemical content and/or potency of marijuana-infused products and shall ensure they are
prominently displayed on the products’ packaging. As part of the regulatory framework governing MPM facilities, the Commission
shall create and oversee a special division within the Commission staffed with individuals with extensive experience in food and
prescription drug regulation to assist the Commission in promulgating industry-leading standards regulating the manufacture,



processing, transportation, packaging and advertising of marijuana-infused products, including ensuring that marijuana infused
products are not manufactured, packaged or advertised in ways that create a substantial risk of attractiveness to children.

(J) Establishment of Retail Marijuana Stores

Marijuana and marijuana-infused products may be sold to individuals 21 years of age and older only by licensed retail marijuana
stores. Such stores may sell only marijuana purchased from licensed MGCE facilities and marijuana-infused products purchased from
licensed MPM facilities, and shall sell no other goods or services except for marijuana accessories and related products. No retail
marijuana store shall allow to be consumed any marijuana or marijuana infused product that has been opened on the premises. No
retail marijuana store shall sell marijuana or marijuana-infused products at a price less than the store paid for such products.

No later than 60 days following adoption of this section, the Commission shall promulgate the initial regulatory rules for licensing
such stores. The Commission may promulgate rules regarding the number of licenses within any precinct of the state; provided,
however, that the number of stores statewide shall not exceed the ratio of one to ten thousand based on the state’s population as
determined by the U.S. Census Bureau's Population Estimates Program (PEP) and revised annually according to either the PEP
estimates or the decennial Census, and that no such license shall be issued to a store unless the electors of the precinct where the store
will be located have approved the use of the location for such purpose at a local option election. Except for provisions unique to
authorization of alcohol sales, including limits on resubmitting an issue to the voters, such elections shall be held and conducted by
election authorities in the same manner as local option elections for the approval by the electors of a precinct of the sale of alcohol to
the public at a specific location. No later than 60 days following adoption of this section, the secretary of state shall prescribe forms
for the petition process and procedures for the conduct of retail marijuana store elections. Such elections shall be held on dates
authorized by law for special elections for other ballot questions, including dates for primary and general elections, occurring not less
than 90 days after a petition for such election is filed. The petitioner shall reimburse the expense of conducting the special election
where there are no candidates or other questions on the precinct ballot. In the calendar year following adoption of this section, special
elections for such question may also be held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday of May and the petitioner shall reimburse the
cost of conducting such election.

(K) Ohio Marijuana Control Commission

There is hereby established the Ohio Marijuana Control Commission, which shall regulate the acquisition, growth, cultivation,
extraction, production, processing, manufacture, testing, distribution, retail sales, licensing and taxation of medical marijuana,
marijuana and marijuana infused products and the operations of marijuana establishments. The Commission shall have seven members
who have not served as elected public officials in the eight years prior to their appointment, and shall be composed of the following: a
licensed Ohio physician, a sworn Ohio law enforcement officer, a licensed Ohio attorney experienced in administrative law, an Ohio-
based patient advocate, an Ohio resident with demonstrated experience in owning, developing, managing and operating businesses, an
Ohio resident with demonstrated experience in the legal marijuana industry, and a public member. The initial seven members shall be
appointed no later than 40 days after the adoption of this section for terms commencing upon appointment. The initial Commission
members shall hold the first meeting of the Commission no later than 45 days after the adoption of this section. In order to create
staggered terms, the initial seven appointees shall be for terms lasting as follows: the attorney, the physician, the industry-experienced
member and the Ohio-based patient advocate will serve terms lasting until December 31st of the fourth year following adoption; and
the business owner, the public member and the sworn law enforcement officer will serve terms lasting until December 31st of the
second year following adoption. All subsequent terms on the Commission shall be for four years ending on December 31st of the
fourth year of the term. All Commission members shall be appointed by the governor to full or unexpired terms as defined herein and
shall be residents of Ohio.

The Commission shall adopt rules to facilitate this section’s implementation and continuing operation. The initial regulatory rules
required to be adopted herein by specific dates shall be adopted by the Commission notwithstanding any other provision of law
regarding promulgation of administrative rules, provided that the Commission shall offer an opportunity for public input. Regulatory
rules shall not prohibit the operation of marijuana establishments, either expressly or through regulations that make their operation
unreasonably impracticable. Such regulations shall include, but not be limited to: procedures for the application for, and the issuance,
renewal, transfer, suspension, and revocation of, a license to operate a marijuana establishment or marijuana testing facility or qualify
as a caregiver; a schedule of application, licensing and renewal fees to be deposited into the Marijuana Control Commission Fund,
provided such fees shall not exceed $50,000 for MGCEL facilities, save for the $100,000 provisional license fee required herein, shall
not exceed $5,000 for MGCES facilities, save for the $10,000 provisional license fee required herein, $25,000 for MPM facilities,
$10,000 for retail marijuana stores, marijuana testing facilities and MGSETL, with this upper limit adjusted annually for inflation;
qualifications for licensure that are directly and demonstrably related to marijuana establishment; regulations regarding debilitating
medical conditions, medical marijuana certifications, caregiver qualifications; requirements to prevent the sale and diversion of
medical marijuana, marijuana, homegrown marijuana and marijuana-infused products to persons under the age of 21; requirements for
testing the safety and potency of medical marijuana, marijuana and marijuana infused products; labeling requirements for medical
marijuana, marijuana and marijuana-infused products sold or distributed by a marijuana establishment; health and safety regulations
for the acquisition, growth, cultivation, harvesting, processing, packaging, preparation, extraction, handling, distribution,
transportation, manufacture, and production of medical marijuana, marijuana and/or marijuana-infused products; restrictions on the
advertising and display of medical marijuana, marijuana and marijuana-infused products to persons under the age of 21; civil penalties
for failure to comply with regulations made pursuant to this section, including enhanced civil penalties for repeat violations; and rules



governing the allocation of resources from the marijuana innovation and business incubator established hereunder to third parties. The
Commission will promulgate a waiver form that a house of worship can sign, waiving the 1000 feet distance requirement for Not-for-
profit medical marijuana dispensaries and retail marijuana stores only.

The Commission will set rigorous renewable energy standards for MGCE facilities that are not unreasonably impracticable. The
Commission shall establish and implement a system for tracking total monthly electric usage of each MGCE facility and total monthly
electric usage of each bud room area at each MGCE facility.

To encourage energy efficiency, within 2 years of the passage of this section, the Commission will promulgate regulatory rules and a
time line for implementing minimum efficiency standards for MGCE facilities which may include; kilowatts per ounce thresholds for
the different types of bud room areas; or marijuana plant canopy areas, or other efficiency mechanisms; which are not unreasonably
impracticable. Penalties for non-compliance may include limits on electric usage or civil penalties. For purposes of this section, new
renewable energy facilities with over 50 percent of total energy output committed to MGCE facilities, and constructed on real property
within 1000' of a MGCE are for purposes of this section on adjacent real property regardless of ownership.

The Commission shall establish and implement a system for real-time tracking and monitoring of ail marijuana, medical marijuana,
and marijuana-infused products from the initial germination and/or extraction through the final consumer transaction. Beginning in the
second year following the adoption of this section, the Commission shall conduct an annual audit of each marijuana establishment to
certify, at a minimum, that such marijuana establishment is in compliance with all applicable rules and regulations. To the extent it
determines that a marijuana establishment is in material noncompliance with applicable rules and regulations, the Commission may
order remedial action; and, to the extent that establishment fails to comply with the Commission’s order within the reasonable time
period set forth by that order, the Commission may suspend or revoke the establishment’s license. Upon revocation, the Commission
will promulgate application requirements and application forms, solicit applications, and issue a new license following the Transfer
MGCE and Additional MGCE site guidelines in this section.

The Commission shall issue annual licenses to marijuana establishments, no later than 90 days after receipt of the completed
application unless the Commission finds the applicant is not eligible for a license or registration under applicable laws and regulations.
Thereafter, licensees shall be entitled to have their licenses renewed pursuant to the Commission’s rules, unless the Commission
determines that the licensee has repeatedly failed to comply with its remedial orders. Such renewal shall be issued or denied prior to
expiration of the current license. Ohio’s administrative procedure statutes generally applicable to other licensing bodies not in conflict
with this section shall apply to rulemaking, license denials, suspensions and revocations by the Commission.

The Commission shall serve as a clearinghouse for scientific and medical industry research on the use of marijuana, marijuana-infused
products and medical marijuana. The Commission shall establish a marijuana innovation and business incubator in Cuyahoga County
to award support to Ohio-based public and private business entities, colleges and universities, nonprofit medical centers, and other
nonprofit research institutions to engage in research and development, as well as to create new products, companies and jobs,
associated with the medical marijuana and marijuana industries in Ohio. The Commission shall provide the incubator funding and
appoint advisors to it who have demonstrated a commitment to the goal of national leadership in job creation and medical,
technological, economic, environmental sustainability, product safety, and entrepreneurial innovation in the medical marijuana and
marijuana industries.

The Commission shall employ necessary and qualified persons, including enforcement agents, and shall retain services of qualified
third parties, including experts, to perform its duties.

(L) General Provisions and Specific Limitations

1) No marijuana establishment shall be located within 1,000 feet of the primary building structure used for any of the following: a
house of worship exempt from taxation under the revised code; a publicly-owned library; a public or chartered non-public elementary
or secondary school; or a state licensed child day-care center, or within 1,000 feet of any public playground or playground adjacent to
any of the foregoing primary building structures, so long as such house of worship, library, playground, school or day-care center was
in existence within the 1,000-foot zone; for real property located on the above 10 reference real property locations on or before
January 1, 2015 in the case of a MGCE facility or the date of an applicant’s first application for a license in the case of transfer and
additional MGCE sites, MPM facility, retail marijuana store, or not-for-profit medical marijuana dispensary. Not-for-profit medical
marijuana dispensaries and retail marijuana stores can get an exception to the 1,000 feet requirement with regards to a house of
worship by getting a signed waiver from the house of worship.

2) In no event shall a person consume marijuana, homegrown marijuana or matijuana-infused products in any public place, or in, or
on the grounds of, a public or chartered nonpublic elementary or secondary school, a state licensed child day-care center, a
correctional facility or community corrections facility, or in a vehicle, aircraft, train or motorboat. No person shall operate, navigate,
or be in actual physical control of any moving vehicle, aircraft, train or motorboat while under the influence of medical marijuana,
marijuana, homegrown marijuana or marijuana-infused products. The foregoing provisions, other than operating or being in physical
control of a moving vehicle, aircraft, train or motorboat, do not prohibit a patient from possessing or using medical marijuana in
accordance with a medical marijuana certification. The general assembly shall pass laws for enforcing all of the preceding.



3) Other than for medical marijuana transferred or sold by a dispensary to a patient or caregiver, and for transfers between a patient
and caregiver consistent with Commission regulations, it shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly sell or transfer marijuana,
homegrown marijuana, medical marijuana or marijuana-infused products to a person under the age of 21. The general assembly shall
enact laws defining this conduct as child endangerment and shall enact enhanced penalties for violations of such laws.

4) Nothing in this section is intended to require an employer to permit or accommodate the use, consumption, possession, transfer,
display, or transportation of medical marijuana, marijuana, homegrown marijuana, marijuana-infused products or marijuana
accessories in the workplace or to affect employers’ ability to restrict the use of such products by employees, except that a patient with
a medical marijuana certification may self-administer the medical marijuana subject to the same conditions applied to administration
of prescribed medications.

5) No person shall have an ownership interest in, or be an officer or director of, a marijuana establishment or MGSETL who is under
the age of 21 or who has been convicted of a felony offense within the prior five years. No person shall continue to hold an ownership
interest in, or an officer or director position with, a marijuana establishment MGSETL upon conviction of a felony and exhaustion of
any appeals. No person shall have an ownership interest in, or be an officer or director of both a MGCEL facility and a MGCES
facility. No person who is a Sheriff, deputy, police officer, prosecuting officer, or employee of the Commission shall have an
ownership interest in a MGCE facility, MPM facility or retail marijuana store. For the first 5 years after adoption of this section,
MGCEL facilities must have at least 40 percent ownership interest by individuals who have been a resident of Ohio for at least 2
years; and for MGCES facilities and MGSETL facility(s), must have at least 80 percent ownership interest by individuals who have
been a resident of Ohio for at least 2 years.

6) It shall be lawful for a licensed MGCE facility, or its designated employees or agents, to handle, sell, store, deliver, transport or
transfer marijuana to a licensed MPM facility, licensed marijuana testing facility, MGSETL or a licensed retail marijuana store; It
shall be lawful for a licensed MGCE facility, or its designated employees or agents, to sell, store, handle, deliver, transport or transfer
medical marijuana to a licensed MPM facility, licensed dispensary, MGSETL or a licensed marijuana testing facility. It shall be lawful
for a licensed MPM facility, or its designated employees or agents, to handle, sell, store, receive, deliver, transport or transfer
marijuana accessories or marijuana-infused products to another licensed MPM facility, a licensed retail marijuana store or licensed
marijuana testing facility; It shall be lawful for a licensed MPM facility, or its designated employees or agents, to sell, handle, store,
receive, deliver, transport or transfer medical marijuana-infused products to another licensed MPM facility, a licensed dispensary or a
licensed marijuana testing facility; It shall be lawful for a licensed MPM facility, or its designated employees or agents, to sell, handle,
store, receive, deliver, transport or transfer marijuana accessories to a licensed dispensary. It shall be lawful for licensed retail
marijuana stores, licensed medical marijuana dispensaries, and licensed marijuana testing facilities, or their designated employees or
agents, to purchase, obtain, handle, store, receive, deliver, transport or transfer marijuana accessories, marijuana, marijuana-infused
products or medical marijuana from licensed MGCE and MPM facilities, and other retail marijuana stores, licensed medical marijuana
dispensaries, and licensed marijuana testing facilities. It shall be lawful for a licensed MGSETL facility, or its designated employees
or agents, to handle, store, receive, deliver, transport or transfer marijuana to or from a licensed MGCE facility, or licensed marijuana
testing facility.

7) MGCE facitities and MPM facilities and are prohibited from selling, delivering, transporting or transferring marijuana, medical
marijuana, marijuana-infused products and marijuana accessories directly to consumers, and no retail marijuana store or dispensary
may be located on the premises of a MGCE, MPM or MGSETL facility. The MGSETL facility is prohibited from selling, delivering,
transporting or transferring MGSETL marijuana, marijuana, medical marijuana, marijuana-infused products and marijuana accessories
to a dispensary, MPM facility, licensed retail marijuana store or directly to customers. It shall be lawful for MGSETL to acquire live
plants for growing from MGCE facilities, once marijuana and medical marijuana are in MGSETL's possession, it becomes MGSETL
marijuana. It will be lawful for MGSETL to transfer sample quantities of the MGSETL marijuana test grow results to MGCE facilities
and marijuana testing facilities with all of the remaining harvest being destroyed or disposed of per the Commission rules and
regulations.

8) Marijuana establishments shall be subject to all applicable state and local laws and regulations related to health, safety and building
codes, including signage. Notwithstanding the foregoing, no local zoning, land use laws, agricultural regulations, subdivision
regulations or similar provisions shall prohibit the development or operation of marijuana establishments, provided that no such
marijuana establishment shall be located in a district zoned exclusively residential as of January 1, 2015 for MGCE facilities, or as of
the date that an application for a license is first filed by a MPM facility, retail marijuana store or not-for profit medical marijuana
dispensary.

(M) Self-Executing, Severability, Conflicting Provisions, and Enactment of Laws

All provisions of this section are self-executing except as specified herein, are severable, and, except where otherwise indicated in the
text, shall supersede all conflicting state and local laws, charters and regulations or other provisions of this constitution. The general
assembly may pass laws implementing the provisions of this section that are not in conflict with its provisions. Nothing in this section
requires the violation of federal law or purports to give immunity under federal law.



(N) Definitions
As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires,

1) “Adjacent real property” means real property that is 1,000 feet or less from a licensed MGCE facility.
2) "Bud room area" means an area in a MGCE that is growing flowering marijuana plants.
3) “Cannabinoids” means the chemical compounds in marijuana having a variety of pharmacologic properties.

4) “Caregiver” means an individual licensed by the Commission, other than the patient and the patient’s physician, who is 21 years of
age or older and is the person responsible for managing the well-being of a patient with a debilitating medical condition for whom a
medical marijuana certification has been issued under this section. To qualify as a caregiver, this individual’s responsibilities to the
patient must include, at a minimum, provision of services in addition to provision of medical marijuana.

5) “Debilitating medical condition” means cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, or acquired immune
deficiency syndrome, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, sickle-cell anemia, ulcerative colitis, dementia,
Alzheimer’s disease, or treatment for such conditions; a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition, or treatment for such
conditions, which produces, for a specific patient, one or more of the following, and which, in the professional opinion of the patient’s
physician, foreseeably may be alleviated by the use of medical marijuana: cachexia, post-traumatic stress disorder, severe pain, severe
nausea, seizures, including those that are characteristic of epilepsy, or persistent muscle spasms, including those that are characteristic
of multiple sclerosis. The Commission shall establish the list of debilitating medical conditions for which medical marijuana
certifications may be issued and may add additional conditions on an annual basis, consistent with current, peer-reviewed medical
research.

6) “Homegrown marijuana” means marijuana grown by a person 21 years of age or older at that person’s place of residence for
purposes that are not dependent or conditioned upon the provision or receipt of financial consideration, including but not limited to
trading and bartering. The sale of homegrown marijuana is unlawful.

7) “Marijuana” and “marihuana” mean all parts of the plant of the genus cannabis whether growing or not, the seeds thereof, the resin
extracted from any part of the plant, and every compound, salt derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant, its seeds, or its resin.
“Marijuana” includes hashish, as defined in the revised code, but does not include homegrown marijuana, medical marijuana,
MGSETL marijuana or industrial hemp, as defined by the general assembly, nor does it include fiber produced from the stalks, oil or
cake made from the seeds of the plant, sterilized seed of the plant which is incapable of germination, or the weight of any other
ingredient combined with marijuana to prepare topical or oral administrations, food, drink or other product.

8) “Marijuana accessories” means any equipment, products, or materials of any kind which are used, intended, or designed for
vaporizing, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing, marijuana or medical marijuana into the human body.

9) “Marijuana Growth, Cultivation and Extraction Facility” or “MGCE facility” means one or more structures in which, or the real
property on which, the growth, cultivation, harvesting, processing, packaging, preparation, and labeling of all marijuana and medical
marijuana available for sale or medical use within the state, and the extraction of cannabinoids from marijuana plants for use in
marijuana-infused products or medical marijuana-infused products available for sale or medical use within the state, is lawful.
"MGCEL facilities" have no restrictions on size. Each "MGCES facility" is limited to 13,000 square feet of grow area until 2021,
thereafter each MGCES is limited to either 13,000 square feet of grow area or 1 percent of the total square feet of the grow area of all
MGCE facilities combined whichever is larger.

10) "MGCEL" or "MGCEL Note Holder" means the legitimate owner of a $100 Federal Reserve Note with one of the below 10 serial
numbers. The Note is tied to the reference property line in the county specified initial MGCE real property. Each serial number
references one of the above initial MGCE real property areas. "MGCEL Note Holder must have a 40% minimum ownership interest
by individuals who have been Ohio Residents for at least 2 years.

Serial Numbers: LD14296516A - Butler, LD01398517A - Clermont, LD00979453A - Franklin, LD01238296A - Hamilton,
LD08532765A - Licking, LE25514157A - Lorain, LE25514156A - Lucas, LE25514158A - Delaware, LE25514152A - Stark,
LE25514151 A - Summit

11) "MGCES" or "MGCES Note Holder" means one of 30 legitimate owner of a $100 Federal Reserve Note with one of the below 30
serial numbers. MGCES Note Holder must have a 80% minimum ownership interest by individuals who have been Ohio Residents
for at least 2 years.

Serial Numbers: LB84577578C, LB75357981C, LB77252375A, LB29630596D, LB06601382B, LB84676876C, LB06669751B,
LB29630580D, LB75357986C, LB77501273A, LB75357978C, LB75357985C, LB38517451D, LB75357977C, LB75357984C,
1.B95733738C, LB48826257A, LB58695633A, LB75357982C, LB75357979C, LB77540641A, LB85296426A, LB07026286B,
LB84758173C, LB75357983C, LB95574224C, LB75357980C, LG17955386A, LG26472604A, LG20986120A.

12) “Marijuana-infused products” means concentrated marijuana products that are composed of marijuana or medical marijuana and
other lawful ingredients and are intended for use or consumption, such as, but not limited to, edible products, marijuana concentrates,
sprays, ointments, and tinctures.



13) “Marijuana establishment” means a MGCE facility, a MPM facility, a retail marijuana store, or a not-for-profit medical marijuana
dispensary. A marijuana establishment’s actions, and the actions of that establishment’s employees and agents, are lawful and are not
subject to civil or criminal penalties so long as such actions are in compliance with this section, with any laws passed by the general
assembly in furtherance of this section, and with any rules and regulations promulgated by the Commission.

14) “Marijuana Product Manufacturing Facility” or “MPM facility” means a facility licensed by the Commission to develop,
manufacture, prepare, and/or package marijuana-infused products, medical marijuana-infused products and/or marijuana accessories.

15) “Marijuana testing facility” means a facility or laboratory licensed by the Commission to acquire, possess, store, transfer, grow,
cultivate, harvest, and process medical marijuana, marijuana and marijuana-infused products for the explicit and limited purposes of
engaging in research related to, and/or certifying the safety and potency of, medical marijuana, marijuana and marijuana-infused
products. At a minimum, such facilities shall be situated near colleges and universities in Athens, Cuyahoga, Lorain, Mahoning,
Scioto and Wood Counties. Such facilities are prohibited from selling medical marijuana, marijuana and marijuana-infused products to
marijuana establishments and consumers, and may transfer medical marijuana, marijuana and marijuana-infused products only to a
marijuana establishment that has engaged the facility to perform quality control testing on those products or in connection with a
safety and potency certification process developed by the Commission.

16) “Medical marijuana” means marijuana used to treat a debilitating medical condition, and includes medical marijuana-infused
products used to treat debilitating medical conditions.

17) “Medical marijuana certification” means a written certification issued on a form prescribed by the Commission by a patient’s
treating physician acting in the usual course of his or her professional practice.

18) “MGSETL” or “MGSETL note holder” or “MGSETL facility” means a marijuana grow systems equipment testing laboratory.
The laboratory regulated by the Commission will test commercial marijuana grow room equipment on crops of MGSETL marijuana.
MGSETL owner is the legitimate owner of Federal Reserve Note LD42376607A. This facility will have one or more structures on
one or more sites in which, the growth, cultivation, harvesting and processing of MGSETL marijuana takes place. Extraction of
cannabinoids and the manufacturing of marijuana-infused products is prohibited.

(19) “ MGSETL marijuana” means marijuana grown at MGSETL facility(s) during the testing of marijuana grow systems. Only
MGSETL marijuana samples may be transferred to a marijuana testing facility and MGCE facilities. All remaining product will be
handled according to Commission regulations.

18) “Not-for-profit medical marijuana dispensary” or “dispensary” means an entity incorporated under Ohio’s not-for-profit
corporation law licensed to purchase medical marijuana from MGCE facilities, medical marijuana-infused products from MPM
facilities and marijuana accessories, and to sell medical marijuana and marijuana accessories to patients and caregivers who present
valid medical marijuana certifications pursuant to rules adopted by the Commission.

19) “Ohio Marijuana Control Commission” or “Commission” means the agency created herein to regulate the marijuana industry,
including, but not limited to, regulating, researching and reporting on the growth, cultivation, production, processing, manufacture,
testing, distribution, transportation, retail sales, licensing, and taxation of marijuana, medical marijuana and marijuana-infused
products.

20) “Opted in” means a municipality or a township who has both a medical marijuana dispensary and a retail marijuana store within
twenty miles of at least 90% of it's population.

21) “Patient” means an Ohio resident who has a debilitating medical condition.
22) “Physician” means an individual who maintains, in good standing, a license to practice medicine issued by the State of Ohio.

23) "Reference property line" means a reference to the property boundaries as of January 1, 2015 of the real properties listed in this
section and not the real property itself. A change in the real property owners, license revocation or change in property boundaries does
not change the reference property lines.

24) “Retail marijuana store” means a retail space occupied by an entity licensed to purchase marijuana from MGCE facilities,
marijuana-infused products from MPM facilities, and marijuana accessories, and to sell marijuana, marijuana-infused products, and
marijuana accessories for personal use to consumers.

25) “Unreasonably impracticable” means that the measures necessary to comply with the regulations require such a high investment of
risk, money, time, or any other resource or asset that the operation of a marijuana establishment is not worthy of being carried out in
practice by a reasonably prudent businessperson.
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