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EDUCATION, BOARD OF; SCHOOLS AND COURSES; SPECIAL 
-TUITION AND MATERIALS, §3313.53 R.C., COST OF; 
CHARGES-DRIVER TRAINING, AUTO EXPENSES, COST OF; 
CHARGES. 

SYLLABUS: 

1. A board of education is without authority to make a tmt10n charge against 
pupils between six and twenty-one years of age for attendance in any of the special 
schools or courses which the board is authorized by law to establish. 

2. A board of education is without authority to make a charge against any 
pupil between six and twenty-one years of age for materials of any character used 
or consumed in the process of instruction either in the ordinary day schools or in the 
special schools authorized by law, or in the special training courses authorized by 
Section 3313.53, Revised Code. However, a pupil in any special course who pro­
duces articles for his own use and ownership may be charged for the materials used 
therefor. 

3. Pupils under twenty-one years of age taking instruction in classes established 
by a board of education for driver training may not be charged for gasoline, oil, etc., 
used in such training. But if persons over twenty-one years of age are admitted 
to such classes, a charge covering all costs of such instruction may be made against 
them. 
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Columbus, Ohio, November 14, 1958 

Hon. James A. Rhodes, Auditor of State 

State House, Columbus, Ohio 

Dear Sir: 

I have before me your request for my op1111on on the following 

questions: 

"]. Whether School Districts operating Evening Schools, 
Vacation Schools, Special Instruction Schools, or Part­
time Schools, ·when pupils are within the school age; 
namely, from 6 to 21 years, may be charged tuition for 
enrolling in such courses. 

"2. \Vhether School Districts may make a charge for the 
use of materials necessary to undertake courses of study 
as provided for in the Special Instruction courses under 
Section 3313.53 of the Revised Code, as well as the 
Driver Training Courses wherein gasoline, oil, etc., is 
used by the student in the furtherance of his course of 
instruction." 

The first branch of your inquiry raises the question whether boards 

of education may make a charge by way of tuition to pupils within the 

school age, viz., from 6 to 21 years, if they avail themselves of evening 

schools, vacation schools and special instruction schools, or part-time 

schools. Section 3313.64, Revised Code, reads in part as follows: 

"The schools of each city, exempted village, or local school 
district shall be free to all school residents between six and twen­
ty-one years of age." * * * (Emphasis added) 
Section 3313.48, Revised Code, reads as follows: 

"The board of education of each city, exempted village, and 
local school district shall provide for the free education of the 
youth of school age within the district under its control, at such 
places as will be most convenient for the attendance of the largest 
number thereof. Every day school so provided shall continue not 
less than thirty-two weeks in each school year." (Emphasis 
added) 

That section as amended, effective January 1, 1959, substitutes for 

"thirty-two weeks," "one hundred seventy-six days." 

It is quite evident that if the special schools to which your questions 

refer are within the scope of the words, "the schools of each district," then 
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there could be no question but that the education of pupils within the 

school age in these special schools shall be free. 

Nowhere in the statutes do I find any provision of the law which 

limits the public schools to what are ordinarily referred to as "day schools." 

Section 3313.32, Revised Code, reads as follows: 

"The board of education of a city, exempted village, or local 
school district may organize evening schools. 

"Any person more than twenty-one years old may be per­
mitted to attend evening school upon such terms and upon pay­
ment of such tuition as the board prescribes." 

Section 3313.56, Revised Code, authorizes the board of education of 

any district to establish part-time schools or classes for the further education 

of children who are employed on age or school certificates. This section 

closes with the words: "Boards of education may provide for the expense 

of such schools the same as for the expense of ordinary elementary schools. 

Section 3313.57, Revised Code, authorizes the board of education to 

provide activities for children during the summer vacation period which 

will promote their health and other enumerated desirable results. A like 

provision is made as to the expense of these activities. 

Section 3313.53, Revised Code, makes the following provisions: 

"The board of education of any city, exempted village, or 
local school district may establish and maintain in connection with 
the public school systems : 

"(A) Manual training, industrial arts, domestic science, 
and commercial departments; 

"(B) Agricultural, industrial, vocational, and trades 
schools; 

" ( C) Kindergartens. Such board may pay from the public 
school funds, as other school expenses are fJaid, the expenses of 
establishing ancl maintaining such departments and schools and of 
directing, supervising, and coaching the pupil-activity programs 
in music, language, arts, speech, government, athletics, and any 
others directly related to the curriculum." (Emphasis added) 

In none of these special provisions is there any suggestion of grant 

of authority to a board of education to vary from the provision to which I 

have called attention, that the schools of each district shall be "free to all 

school residents between 6 and 21 years of age." 
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vVhile attendance in these special schools 1s 111 general optional, yet 

they appear to me to be a part of the general plan contemplated by the 

law for the complete education of the children of the district, and accord­

ingly my answer to your first question must be that the board of education 

is without any authority to make a charge of tuition against the pupils resi­

dent of its district between the ages of 6 and 21, and enrolling in such 

special schools or courses. 

Your second question relates to the right of a board of education to 

make a charge for the use of materials necessary for the prosecution of 

the special courses authorized by Section 3313.33, Revised Code, and also 

for the gasoline, oil, etc., used by students in the furtherance of their course 

of instruction in motor vehicle driver training. 

It may be said at the outset that there is nothing in any of the statutes 

either authorizing or forbidding such charges. It appears to me that we 

must resort to a rule of reason in determining the extent to which the board 

of education may go in charging for materials used in connection with the 

operation of the school and particularly in the special courses above referred 

to. Plainly, the every day operation of the day school and most of these 

special courses, involves the use and destruction of certain equipment which 

is essential to the task of providing free education to the children of school 

age. These would include a wide range of materials, from blackboard 

crayon to the free school books which a board of education is required by 

Section 3329.06, Revised Code, to furnish its pupils. As to these, it is 

manifest that no accurate determination could be arrived at by which the 

cost could be allocated to each pupil. I am convinced that the expense of 

providing and replacing such equipment is a part of the free education 

which the schools are required to furnish. 

It is evident, however, that when it comes to courses like manual 

training, industrial, vocational and trade schools, many special items of 

expense may be incurred which are for the individual benefit of the pupil 

availing himself of such courses. For instance, it is common in the manual 

training schools for a pupil to use considerable quantity of lumber, metals 

and other materials and be permitted to manufacture some piece of furniture 

or other article which is to be his own property. Here it would appear 

to me that there should be a division of expense, that portion of the lumber, 

etc., which relates to the process of instruction being a part of the legitimate 

expense of the board providing the course of instruction, but materials 
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used for the production of some article for the special benefit and owner­

ship of the student being properly charged to him. The same principle 

would prevail as to other industrial, technical, or special training courses. 

For example, a student in art may produce a painting which he would 

wish to take home and own, and it would seem quite reasonable that he 

should reimburse the school for materials used. 

When it comes to driver's training courses we find a peculiar situation. 

No such courses are specifically authorized by any provision of the law, 

and they are only recognized as falling within that portion of Section 

3313.60, Revised Code, which reads in part: 

"Boards of education of county, exempted village, and city 
school districts shall prescribe a graded course of study for all 
schools under their control subject to the approval of the state 
board of education. In such graded courses of study there shall 
be included the study of the following subjects: 

* * * 
" ( G) First aid, safety and fire prevention; * * *" 

A course in "safety" has been held by a series of opinions of my 

predecessors, to include instructions in driving motor vehicles, See Opinion 

No. 1214, Opinions of the Attorney General for 1952, p. 187; Opinion 

No. 4551, Opinions of the Attorney General for 1954, p. 553. In the first 

of these opinions, snpra, it was held that a board of education, having 

prescribed such course of training, has authority to provide "motor vehicle 

equipment" for the same either by rental or purchase. 

In Opinion No. 4551, supra, the syllabus reads as follows: 

"A board of education has authority, under the provisions of 
Section 3313.60, Revised Code, to establish a graded course of 
instruction in the operation of motor vehicles, and may lawfully 
expend public funds for such purpose." 

In the course of the opinion it was said : 

"In this situation, where a board of education is expressly 
authorized by statute to establish graded courses of study in 'first 
aid, safety and fire prevention,' it ,vould seem that a course in 
'safety' could scarcely be regarded as adequate if it did not include 
instr~ction in the operation of motor vehicles with emphasis on the 
prevention of motor vehicle accidents." 

In Opinion No. 2112, Opinions of the Attorney General for 1958, 

p. 302, issued May 15, 1958, I made reference to the opinions aforesaid, and 
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held that where the state board of education has approved a driver train­

ing school as a part of the regular curriculum, the board of a school district 

may not charge tuition for such training course to students under 21 who 

are residents of the district. 

In none of the above opinions was there any reference to the cost of 

the gasoline or oil used in carrying out such training. I am unable to see 

how it can be differentiated from any of the other materials which are 

consumed, or worn out in the conduct of the schools. Certainly the pupil 

cannot take home the gasoline and oil which he has consumed, and there 

is therefore no analogy to the products of his skill in the manual training 

course above referred to and I must conclude that such pupil driver, if 

under 21 years of age, cannot be charged with such fuel expense. 

In the above discussion as to driver training, I have assumed that we 

are dealing only with pupils who are within the "school age." It appears 

to me that practically all of the statutes providing for the organization and 

conduct of the schools relate solely to the free schools, to wit those pro­

vided for children under 21 years of age. The single exception is found in 

Section 3313.52, Revised Code, which I have quoted, and which provides 

for "evening schools" which a "person more than twenty-one years of age 

may be permitted to attend, upon such terms and upon payment of such 

tuition as the board prescribes." 

I do not have before me the question whether a board of education 

may provide driver training to adults, but if we assume that it may and 

does, there would certainly be no reason why such persons should not be 

subject to a tuition charge which would include al1 elements of expense 

entering into such course of training. In Opinion No. 3573, Opinions of 

Attorney General for 1954, p. 64, it was held that a board of education 

mi~ht, in addition to the evening schools authorized by Section 3313.52, 

supra, offer courses to adults in manual training and other vocational and 

industrial arts, and charge such tuition rates as the board deemed proper. 

But that finding was based largely on certain federal legislation relative to 

these subjects and the provision of Section 3303.04, et seq., Revised Code, 

authorizing the state to cooperate in such courses. This would obviously 

not include instruction in motor vehicle driving. 

In the light of the foregoing, it is my opinion and you are advised: 

1. A board of education is without authority to make a tuition charge 

against pupils between six and twenty-one years of age for attendance 
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in any of the special schools or courses which the board is authorized by 

law to establish. 

2. A board of education is without authority to make a charge against 

any pupil between six and twenty-one years of age for materials of any 

character used or consumed in the process of instruction either in the ordi­

nary day schools or in the special schools authorized by law, or in the 

special training courses authorized by Section 3313.53, Revised Code. 

However, a pupil in any special course who produces articles for his own 

use and ownership may be charged for the materials used therefor. 

3. Pupils under twenty-one years of age taking instruction in classes 

established by a board of education for driver training may not be charged 

for gasoline, oil, etc., used in such training. But if persons over twenty-one 

years of age are admitted to such classes, a charge covering all costs of 

such instruction may be made against them. 

Respectfully, 

vv1LLIAM SAxBE 

Attorney General 




