
• Victims of a  
crime that poses  
a substantial  
threat of personal 
injury or death 

• Dependents of a 
homicide victim 

• Claimants responsible for a crime victim’s 
expenses, such as a parent or guardian

• A victim whose expenses are not fully 
covered by insurance or other sources

Who may not be eligible:

Apply online at 
www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Victim

• The offender or accomplice 
of the offender 

• A victim who was 
committing a criminal act that 
contributed to his or her injuries 

• Victims who do not report the crime or 
cooperate with law enforcement

CRIME 
can be 
costly
As a victim, 
you may qualify 
for compensation

Who may be eligible:

http://www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Victim


For more information, contact the Crime Victim 
Services Section of the Ohio Attorney General’s 

 Office at 800-582-2877, 614-466-5610 or 
www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Victim.

Victims compensation 
guidelines

Limits to compensation:

• Medical and related expenses

• Counseling for family members of a victim 
affected by specific crimes, up to $2,500 
per person or $7,500 per family

• Wages lost because of the crime

• Funeral and burial expenses, up to $7,500

• Financial support for dependents of a 
homicide victim

• Replacement services (paying 
someone to do what the victim 
would normally do, such as 
housecleaning, child care, 
errands, etc.)

• Crime-scene cleanup 
(including repairs for safety 
purposes), up to $750

• Replacement items for those 
taken as evidence, up to $750

• Compensation cannot be paid for pain and 
suffering or stolen, damaged or lost property. 

• Total expenditures cannot exceed $50,000.

• Claims must total at least $50.

• Costs payable through other sources, such 
as insurance or the Hospital Care Assurance 
Program, are not eligible.

What may be covered:

http://www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov/Victim

