



Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission Office 800-346-7682 Fax 740-845-0362

Submitted on January 23, 2020 - Final Signed

Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission Special Session Meeting Thursday, October 23, 2019 held at the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy 1650 State Route 56 SW London, Ohio 43140

October 23, 2019 Minutes

A. Opening Call to Order

Chair Stanforth called the meeting to order at 12:01 p.m. Chief Kral led the Pledge of Allegiance. Ms. Donna Long called the Roll Call.

Commission members present - per sign-in sheet

Sheriff Vernon Stanforth Sheriff Michael Heldman Lt. James Fitsko Ms. Carol O'Brien Chief George Kral Chief Clayton Harris

Colonel Richard Fambro – On phone with no vote (called in during Executive Session)

Staff Attorney General's Office - per sign-in sheet

Mr. Jeffrey Boucher-Associate Assistant Attorney/AGO Ms. Jill Cury-OPOTC Staff Ms. Courtney DeLong-OPOTC Staff Mr. Michael Golec-OPOTA Staff Mr. Richard Hardy-Director of Certification/Standards and Education/Policy Ms. Donna Long, OPOTC Secretary-OPOTC Staff Ms. Lynnette Rodrigue – OPOTA Staff, Deputy Director Mr. Michael Walton, Asst. Attorney General -Constitutional Office/AGO

Guests - per sign-in sheet

Mr. Dwight Holcomb

P.O. Box 309, London, Ohio 43140

www.OhioAttorneyGeneral.gov

Chair Stanforth announced the Commission had a personnel issue or imminent or potential litigation to go before the Commission. Chair Stanforth entertained a motion to go into executive session.

MOTION:

Chief Harris moved to go into executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters. The motion was seconded by Ms. O'Brien. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-6, No-0.

Chair Stanforth, Sheriff Heldman, Chief Harris, Lt. Fitsko, Ms. O'Brien, and Chief Kral all voted Yes.

Colonel Fambro didn't call in during this roll call, but did call in during the Executive session. Colonel Fambro wasn't permitted to vote during the proceedings.

Chair Stanforth asked once everyone had signed in, if they would please leave the room with the exception of Commissioners and legal counsel.

The Commission went into Executive Session at 12:17 p.m.

Chair Stanforth entertain the motion to come out of Executive Session at 12:55 p.m.

MOTION:

Sheriff Heldman made the motion to come out of Executive Session. The motion was seconded by Chief Harris. A vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-6, No- 0, Colonel Fambro was not permitted to vote.

Chair Stanforth reminded all in attendance to please sign in.

Following the Executive Session, Chair Stanforth entertained any motions from the floor:

MOTION:

Ms. O'Brien made the motion to appoint Mr. Dwight Holcomb has the Executive Director of OPOTA. The motion was seconded by Sheriff Heldman. No discussion was brought forward. A roll call vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-6, No-0, Colonel Fambro was not permitted to vote.

Chair Stanforth, Sheriff Heldman, Chief Harris, Lt. Fitsko, Ms. O'Brien, and Chief Kral all voted Yes.

Chair Stanforth stated the vote was firmly in favor for the hiring of Mr. Dwight Holcomb as the Executive Director. Chair Stanforth made note for the record that Colonel Fambro was still on the phone. Colonel Fambro participated in the discussion, but did not cast any votes.

The chair asked if there was any other business for the Commission? Hearing done Chair Stanforth entertained a motion to adjourn.

MOTION:

Chief Kral moved to adjourn the meeting. Chief Harris seconded the motion. A vote was taken and passed unanimously. Yes-6 / No-0 / Colonel Fambro was not permitted to vote.

Time:12:58 p.m.

Chair Vernon P. Stanforth

These transcripts are not verbatim. Audio recordings are available upon request.